Metallica To Release Acoustic Album In February

Helping Hands… Live & Acoustic At The Masonic will benefit the band's All Within My Hands foundation.

Video not playing? View on YouTube

Metallica are set to release their first-ever acoustic album on February 1, with all proceeds going to their All Within My Hands foundation.

The album, titled Helping Hands… Live & Acoustic At The Masonic, was recorded during their Helping Hands Benefit Concert held in San Francisco on November 3.

The 12-song set featured rearranged versions of Metallica tracks and covers of Deep Purple, Nazareth, Bob Seger and Blue Öyster Cult classics.

"The holiday season is in full swing now and as you shop and celebrate with friends and family we want to encourage you to also continue to support those less fortunate in any way you can by donating your time or making a contribution; spread the word about your good works via social media and inspire others too!" reads a post on the band's site. "Today we commemorate #GivingTuesday, a global day of giving as we continue to raise funds for All Within My Hands and move forward with our mission to fight hunger and assist in creating sustainable communities through workforce education.

"As part of Giving Tuesday, we’re excited to announce that we’ll be releasing Helping Hands… Live & Acoustic At The Masonic on limited edition, 140g coloured vinyl with proceeds donated to All Within My Hands. The recording... will be available on two discs mixed by Greg Fidelman and mastered for vinyl by Reuben Cohen at Lurssen Mastering.

"Thanks to all of you and our generous sponsors, the very first fundraising concert and auction raised over $1.3 million!" they add. "Those resources will be used to work with our partners at Feeding America and the American Association of Community Colleges, for more info and to donate, visit Thank you for your continued support and enjoy the holidays!"

Check out this acoustic version of All Within My Hands from the show, featuring Avi Vinocur on mandolin and backing vocals, David Phillips on pedal-steel, Henry Salvia on keyboards, and Cody Rhodes on percussion.

The track listing for Helping Hands… Live & Acoustic At The Masonic is as follows:

Disc One / Side A
1. Disposable Heroes
2. When A Blind Man Cries (Deep Purple)
3. The Unforgiven

Disc One / Side B
1. Please Don’t Judas Me (Nazareth)
2. Turn the Page (Bob Seger)

Disc Two / Side C
1. Bleeding Me
2. Veteran of the Psychic Wars (Blue Öyster Cult)
3. Nothing Else Matters

Disc Two / Side D
1. All Within My Hands
2. Enter Sandman
3. The Four Horsemen
4. Hardwired


Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?