Kills Birds band credit Cheryl Georgette
The News

Dave Grohl-approved punks Kills Birds drop new single, Rabbit, recorded at Studio 606

Kills Birds – who have caught the attention of the likes of Foo Fighters’ Dave Grohl and Sonic Youth’s Kim Gordon – have shared a powerful new single from their upcoming second album.

Young punk trio Kills Birds have dropped a powerful new single, Rabbit.

The track opens up the band’s upcoming second album Married, which is due out on November 12 via Royal Mountain Records and KRO Records. The 11-song LP was recorded at Dave Grohls own Studio 606 by invitation of the Foo Fighters man himself, after he became a fan of their self-titled debut (as did Sonic Youths Kim Gordon, so they really are in good company here).

Discussing Rabbit, Kills Birds vocalist Nina Ljeti explains that the lyrics are about the experience of being in an abusive relationship with a powerful person. To be with someone who was praised by the public, but hurt you – and others – in private really eviscerates your self worth. There’s nowhere to turn for help. Like many people who share this experience, this particular relationship defined the majority of my young adulthood, and I’m still dealing with the emotional consequences of it.”

Read this: Now Hear This: Patrick Kindlon on the best new hardcore, punk-rock and powerviolence

Guitarist Jacob Loeb adds: Rabbit was the first song written for the new album. Despite being one of the harder-hitting songs on the record, it was originally written on an acoustic guitar at Nina’s house. The goal was for the chorus to have an almost disorienting quiet/loud dynamic which really came to life when we plugged in and all practiced it for the first time. We tried to make the chorus start so quietly that the listener feels like something went wrong with their speaker and has to kind of lean in to hear Nina singing before the repetition of How could I?’ abruptly and violently re-enters, startling them and making the emotion visceral.”

Check it out below:

And see the full tracklist:

1. Rabbit
2. Cough Up Cherries
3. Natalie
4. Glisten
5. Reasoning
6. Offside
7. Woman
8. PTL
9. Good Planning
10. Wallowing
11. Married

Catch Kills Birds supporting the Foos later this year:

Posted on August 3rd 2021, 4:49p.m.
Read More
Holding Absence in The K! Pit
Melodic post-hardcore crew Holding Absence hit The K! Pit in association with Nordic Spirit at Blondies, our favourite East London dive bar.
Svalbard in The K! Pit
Brit metallers Svalbard hit The K! Pit in association with Nordic Spirit at Blondies, our favourite East London dive bar.
Billie Eilish introduces Foo Fighters at MTV VMAs: "They’ve carried the torch of rock'n'roll for 26 years…"

See Billie Eilish introduce Foo Fighters as Global Icons at the MTV VMAs, before the band perform a killer medley of Learn To Fly, Shame Shame and Everlong…

Foo Fighters and Jane’s Addiction members team up for new band, NHC

Listen to two new songs by Taylor Hawkins, Dave Navarro and Chis Cheney’s new outfit now…