Frank Turner
The News

Frank Turner Announces New Album No Man’s Land

Listen to Frank Turner’s new single Sister Rosetta, from upcoming album No Man’s Land

Guitar-slinging troubadour Frank Turner has revealed details of new album No Man’s Land.

Frank’s eighth full-length tells the stories of important, inspirational women throughout history who don’t receive the recognition they deserve. Throughout the record’s 13 tracks, there are tales of Egyptian feminist activist Huda Sha’arawi, serial killer Nannie Doss, Byzantine princess Kassiani, and Resusci Anne – a drowned virgin whose face was used as the model for the medical CPR mannequin used throughout the globe.

You can’t not write a song about a woman who died never having been kissed and then became the most kissed face in history,” says Frank.

Speaking about the album, Frank says: It’s bringing together my two main interests in life, which have always been separate from each other — history and songwriting.

It’s not telling anyone what to do or how to live or how to be,” Frank continues. If there was a crowded field of people writing songs about Princess Kassiani then I would see the argument for me bowing out, but there isn’t.

No-one else is writing these songs right now. That’s why I want to share these stories.” 

The first of these stories comes in the form of Sister Rosetta, a track based on Sister Rosetta Tharpe, one of the most influential musicians in American history. 

The announcement of No Man’s Land also sees the launch of a new podcast from Frank Turner titled Tales From No Man’s Land, which deep dives into each song on the record.

No Man’s Land tracklist

1. Jinny Bingham’s Ghost
2. Sister Rosetta
3. I Believed You, William Blake
4. Nica
5. A Perfect Wife
6. Silent Key
7. Eye Of The Day
8. The Death Of Dora Hand
9. The Graveyard Of The Outcast Dead
10. The Lioness
11. The Hymn Of Kassiani
12. Rescue Annie
13. Rosemary Jane

No Man’s Land is released August 16 on Xtra Mile Recordings/Polydor Records.

Posted on July 3rd 2019, 10:46a.m.
Read More
Svalbard in The K! Pit
Brit metallers Svalbard hit The K! Pit in association with Nordic Spirit at Blondies, our favourite East London dive bar.
Holding Absence in The K! Pit
Melodic post-hardcore crew Holding Absence hit The K! Pit in association with Nordic Spirit at Blondies, our favourite East London dive bar.
One year on: How grassroots venues have been keeping the scene alive

Though live music as we know it has been postponed, these 10 ace independent venues have found new ways to keep the scene alive over the past year.

Green Day are teasing new music from the studio

Billie Joe Armstrong has shared a snippet of a new Green Day song, direct from the studio…

End of content
No more pages to load