Gold Key Promo 2020
The News

Gold Key Announce New Album Panic Machine

Listen to Don’t Sleep, the latest single from Gold Key’s new album Panic Machine

Gold Key have announced details of their upcoming second album Panic Machine.

The follow-up to 2017’s Hello, Phantom, will be released on Venn Records on May 1.

We packed a van full of equipment and got dropped off at a cottage in Arthog, Gwynedd on the coast of North Wales,” says vocalist Steve Sears. Hello, Phantom was recorded in my studio in Watford, but I’m not a fan of repeating myself, and I thought it’d be a good idea this time to decamp to the middle of nowhere. 

It was perfect: with no phone signal, no car and nothing within walking distance, we were 100% isolated. A lot of our songs tackle feelings of isolation, and I couldn’t think of a more perfect place to be to capture that vibe.” 

Guitarist Laurent Barnard adds that the band wanted to tap into something honest.” 

He continues: You could feel that you were removed from the rat-race, and that bled into the music. We set up in one room and tracked most of the songs live. The recording sessions for our first album were somewhat fractured, a necessity at the time as we all had other commitments, but this time we were focused and connected from the moment we started recording until the end of the process. 

It made for a more organic, spontaneous and instinctive creative environment, and a true sense of harmony and shared purpose.”

READ THIS: 12 of the craziest concept albums ever

The album announcement is marked with the release of new single Don’t Sleep, which you can listen to below. 

Don’t Sleep is about insomnia and the tricks it plays on your mind,” explains Steve. In fact, I wrote it half asleep which is why the lyrics and the music flit between reality and nonsense. Creating late at night is sometimes the only way I can empty my brain and get some rest.”

Panic Machine tracklist

1. Sweet Darkness
2. Don’t Sleep
3. Shallows
4. Mechanical World
5. Trick Of The Light
6. Enceladus
7. Strain
8 Fly Into The Sun
9. A Crack In The Earth
10. Human
11. Million
12. The Best of Luck

Gold Key Panic Machine Album Art
Posted on March 3rd 2020, 11:40a.m.
Read More
Holding Absence in The K! Pit
Melodic post-hardcore crew Holding Absence hit The K! Pit in association with Nordic Spirit at Blondies, our favourite East London dive bar.
Svalbard in The K! Pit
Brit metallers Svalbard hit The K! Pit in association with Nordic Spirit at Blondies, our favourite East London dive bar.
Atreyu announce upcoming album Baptize, share two new songs

Hear Atreyu’s two new singles: Warrior featuring blink-182’s Travis Barker, and Underrated.

Now Hear This: Daniel P. Carter on the best new post-rock, hardcore and goth-punk

Radio 1 Rock Show host Daniel P. Carter brings you the new bands you need to check out now, including SOM, L’exquisite Douler and Rest Easy…

End of content
No more pages to load