Chris Cornell No One Sings Like You Anymore header
The News

Hear the surprise final Chris Cornell album, No One Sings Like You Anymore

The estate of Chris Cornell has released a digital album of unheard covers by the late Soundgarden legend.

The final-ever Chris Cornell album, No One Sings Like You Anymore, has just hit streaming services in a surprise digital release.

The 10-track covers record has been shared in full today (December 11), and will get a vinyl release on March 19, 2021 on behalf of The Chris Cornell Estate in conjunction with UMe. Captured in 2016, No One Sings… was created with the help of producer Brendan O’Brien, with the pair performing all instruments on the LP.

This album is so special because it is a complete work of art that Chris created from start to finish,” says the late Soundgarden frontman’s widow, Vicky Cornell. His choice of covers provides a personal look into his favourite artists and the songs that touched him. He couldn’t wait to release it. 

Chris Cornell studio credit Andrew Stuart

Read this: Chris Cornell’s 12 greatest vocal performances

This moment is bittersweet because he should be here doing it himself, but it is with both heartache and joy that we share this special album. All of us could use his voice to help heal and lift us this year, especially during the holiday season. I am so proud of him and this stunning record, which to me illustrates why he will always be beloved, honoured, and one the greatest voices of our time.”

When my dad was making this album, it was so fun – I remember waking up in the morning, having breakfast with him and going with him into the studio,” reveals Toni Cornell. We would take our piano lessons there, and Christopher would play video games with Brendan and my dad. We got to experience so much with him and have so many amazing memories. I’m really happy to be sharing this album. We love you, daddy.”

Christopher Cornell adds: We had so much fun in the studio during this time, and on days off we’d go to Tree People and hike around there. We would also play hide and go seek inside the Beverly Hills Hotel and when security would show up they would think it was so funny that my dad was running through fire escapes with us. For me this album represents who my dad was. I’m really proud of him and his work. I hope you all love this record as much as I do.”

Included on No One Sings Like You Anymore are covers from the likes of John Lennon and Janis Joplin, as well as Chris’ recently released rendition of Guns N’ Roses’ Patience, and a new studio recording of his Nothing Compares 2 U cover.

Check out the full No One Sings Like You Anymore tracklist:

1. Get It While You Can
2. Jump Into The Fire
3. Sad Sad City
4. Patience
5. Nothing Compares 2 U
6. Watching The Wheels
7. You Don’t Know Nothing About Love
8. Showdown
9. To Be Treated Rite
10. Stay With Me Baby

Chris Cornell studio 2 credit Andrew Stuart
Posted on December 11th 2020, 5:00a.m.
Read More
Wargasm in The K! Pit
Chaotic twosome Wargasm hit The K! Pit in association with ALT+LDN at Blondies, our favourite East London dive bar
Svalbard in The K! Pit
Brit metallers Svalbard hit The K! Pit in association with Nordic Spirit at Blondies, our favourite East London dive bar.
Deftones, Halsey, Gojira, Weezer and more nominated for GRAMMYs

The 2022 GRAMMY nominations are in – with the likes of Deftones, Halsey, Gojira and more featured in the best rock, metal and alternative categories…

Now Hear This: Pupil Slicer's Kate Davies on the best new hardcore, tech-metal and cyber-grind

Pupil Slicer’s Kate Davies brings you the new bands you need to check out now, including THØTCRIME, Burner and 156/Silence.