Myrkur Promo 2020
The News

Myrkur Announces New Album Folkesange, Releases New Single

Listen to Myrkur’s new song Ella, taken from her upcoming album Folkesange

Myrkur has announced details of her third album Folkesange.

The follow-up to 2017’s Mareridt LP, Myrkur (real name Amalie Bruun) has moved away from her ethereal black metal sound to embrace traditional folk music and Scandinavian culture.

The first song to be released from Folkesange is the opening track Ella, which Myrkur says is the result of “years of studying, playing and listening to traditional Nordic folk music”.

READ THIS: 12 of the craziest concept albums ever

She continues, “This is my version of a new folk song, with roots planted in history and in the past. It is my ode to mankind and our connection with nature – a rite of passage as a woman and a rebirth-ritual in the sea.

Three years ago I decided to share a video where I performed an old Scandinavian folk song on the nyckelharpa (a traditional Swedish instrument). After this I realised that I had a strong need to create an album within this universe and that other people also wished to hear this. So I started working on picking out what old songs to reinterpret as well as write my own version of this. Ella is this.”

Myrkur has previously performed a series of Folkesange shows across Europe, including London and Roadburn festival in Tilburg, but this is the first full-length recording of her new, folk-tinged path.

Folkesange tracklist

1. Ella
2. Fager som en Ros
3. Leaves of Yggdrasil
4. Ramund
5. Tor i Helheim
6. Svea
7. Harpens Kraft
8. Gammelkäring
9. House Carpenter
10. Reiar
11. Gudernes Vilje
12. Vinter

Folkesange will be released on March 20 via Relapse Records and is available to pre-order now.

READ THIS: How Paganism is influencing a new breed of heavy artist

Myrkur Folkesange Artwork
Posted on January 14th 2020, 4:00pm
Read More
In Conversation With Winston McCall of PARKWAY DRIVE
Parkway Drive frontman Winston McCall stopped by our office to chat about his life and career.
Frank Carter And The Rattlesnakes played The K! Pit in our favourite East London dive bar.
10 Of The Most Distinctive Band Aesthetics In Rock And Metal

Here are 10 bands whose visual styles are as iconic as their music.

Primus Announce Rush Tribute Tour, Will Cover A Farewell To Kings In Its Entirety

Primus will pay homage to one of their idols by performing Rush’s A Farewell To Kings in its entirety across North America.