Ozzy Osbourne No More Tours Ii Press Shot Header
The News

Ozzy Osbourne has 13 or 14 really strong songs” for next solo album

Ozzy Osbourne and producer Andrew Watt have amassed some really strong songs” for the follow-up to last year’s Ordinary Man.

After starting work on another solo album – the follow-up to Ordinary Man – in July last year, Ozzy Osbourne has revealed that he’s making great progress, with 13 or 14 really strong songs” in the works.

Chatting on SiriusXM with co-host Billy Morrison (via Blabbermouth), The Prince Of Darkness teases that some interesting people are gonna be on the album”, having been working with producer Andrew Watt.

[Andrew] goes in with a band,” Ozzy says. He gets some things going, and I’ll go, Yeah, I like that,’ No, I don’t like that,’ That’s okay.’ We’ve got, like, 13 [or] 14 really strong songs.”

He adds that, When I get something really special, I go, Yes, this is a winner.’ There’s one [song] called Patient Number Nine. It’s one we wrote about Sharon [Osbourne] and I.”

Read this: How Ozzfest 99 ushered in a new generation of metal

In December 2020, Andrew confirmed that Metallica​’s Rob Trujillo, Foo Fighters’ Taylor Hawkins and Red Hot Chili Peppers’ Chad Smith had been helping out on the basic tracks” so far, adding that he couldn’t confirm if they would be on the finished LP.

I started doing a bunch of basic tracks with Chad and Robert Trujillo, who used to play in Ozzy’s band,” the producer told Guitar World. And Taylor Hawkins also came in and played a bunch on the record as well, which adds a different flair – it kind of harkened back to Ozzy’s 80s era, in a great way. And I think it’s so cool for a rock fan to be able to listen to half an album with Chad Smith on drums, and then you flip it over and you get to hear Taylor Hawkins.

And you know, the last album was really special for everyone involved. And so there was no point in Ozzy or me doing this again unless we thought we could bring something new to the table. And I feel like we’re achieving that.

There’s some songs on there that are like eight or nine minutes long that are these really crazy journeys. I’m really excited about it.”

Listen to Ozzy’s new interview below:

Catch Ozzy and Judas Priest at the following live dates next year – potentially with his new album in tow…

January 2022

26 Germany – Berlin Mercedes-Benz Arena
28 Czech Republic – Prague O2 Arena
31 Switzerland – Zurich Hallenstadion

February 2022

2 Hungary – Budapest Budapest Arena
5 Spain – Madrid WiZink Center
8 Italy – Bologna Unipol Arena
11 Germany – Mannheim SAP Arena
14 Germany – Hamburg Barclaycard Arena
17 Finland – Helsinki Hartwall Arena
19 Sweden – Stockholm Friends Arena
21 Germany – Dortmund Westfalenhalle
24 Germany – Munich Olympiahalle
27 UK – Nottingham Motorpoint Arena

March 2022

1 Ireland – Dublin 3Arena
4 UK – Birmingham Resorts World Arena
7 UK – London The O2
9 UK – Manchester AO Arena
12 UK – Newcastle Utilita Arena
14 UK – Glasgow The SSE Hydro

Read this: The 10 greatest moments from The Osbournes

Posted on May 18th 2021, 12:51p.m.
Read More
Holding Absence in The K! Pit
Melodic post-hardcore crew Holding Absence hit The K! Pit in association with Nordic Spirit at Blondies, our favourite East London dive bar.
Svalbard in The K! Pit
Brit metallers Svalbard hit The K! Pit in association with Nordic Spirit at Blondies, our favourite East London dive bar.
The 50 best albums from 2001

From Slipknot and Sum 41 to Tool and Tenacious D, we rank the greatest albums from the year 2001

"Without him there would be no us": Slipknot post Joey Jordison statement and tribute video

Slipknot have posted a tribute to their founding drummer Joey Jordison, who passed away earlier this week.

End of content
No more pages to load