Painted Shield Band Credit Josie Jennings
The News

Pearl Jam’s Stone Gossard Launches New Side-Project, Painted Shield

Listen to I Am Your Country, the debut single from Pearl Jam guitarist Stone Gossard’s new side-project.

With the band’s Gigaton touring plans pushed back to 2021 now, Pearl Jam guitarist Stone Gossard has launched a new group with former PJ drummer Matt Chamberlain, vocalist Mason Jennings and keyboardist/vocalist Brittany Davis: Painted Shield.

The quartet have unveiled the debut single from this project, I Am Your Country, with a full self-titled album arriving via Stone’s Loosegroove label on November 27.

Read this: Pearl Jam’s Ten – The evolution of a classic

“I love making music, and I especially love collaborating with other musicians,” he says. “That’s the fun part, when you experience synchronicity between the music and the people you’re involved with.

“I’ve been a huge fan of both Stone and Matt for years,” adds Mason. “I listen to a lot of electronic and heavy rock music, but most of what I do is my voice and an acoustic guitar. I was excited by the idea of bringing that intimate side of what I do to this mega sound they were creating.”

Stream I Am Your Country below:

Catch Pearl Jam live at the following dates next year:

June 2021

16 Amsterdam, Holland – Ziggo Dome
17 Amsterdam, Holland – Ziggo Dome
20 Landgraaf, Holland – Pinkpop Festival
23 Berlin, Germany – Waldbuhne
26 Imola, Italy – Autodromo Internazionale Enzo e Dino Ferrari
29 Zurich, Switzerland – Hallenstadion

July 2021

1 Werchter, Belgium – Rock Werchter Festival
4 Stockholm, Sweden – Lollapalooza Stockholm
6 Copenhagen, Denmark – Royal Arena
14 Budapest, Hungary – Budapest Arena
16 Frankfurt, Germany – Festhalle
18 Paris, France – Lollapalooza Paris
21 Vienna, Austria – Wiener Stadthalle
23 Krakow, Poland – Tauron Arena
25 Prague, Czech Republic – O2 Arena

Read this: The 11 greatest Reading Festival headline sets ever

Posted on September 10th 2020, 4:10pm
Read More
The Kerrang! Heavy Trivia Quiz
Put your rock and metal knowledge to the ultimate test!
Bush Live In Los Angeles
A full band, full production performance from post-grunge icons Bush
Listen To Pearl Jam Frontman Eddie Vedder's New Solo Song, Cartography

Eddie Vedder unveils Cartography, originally taken from the soundtrack for Eric Becker’s 2018 Return To Mount Kennedy documentary.

You Me At Six Unleash New Single And Video, Beautiful Way

Watch the video for You Me At Six’s new single Beautiful Way, taken from their upcoming seventh album SUCKAPUNCH.

End of content
No more pages to load