At The Gates announce new album, The Nightmare Of Being

At The Gates' Tomas Lindberg hints that new album The Nightmare Of Being sonically has "just more of everything"…

At The Gates announce new album, The Nightmare Of Being
Emily Carter

Gothenburg death metal pioneers At The Gates have announced their new album, The Nightmare Of Being.

The Swedes have shared the record artwork and release date, with vocalist Tomas Lindberg teasing of what's to come conceptually: "The overall theme deals with the topic of pessimism, and I have been diving deep down in pessimistic philosophers. Trying to understand this way of looking at the world.

Read this: 11 bands who wouldn't be here without At The Gates

"It is not a negative album, more a gateway into new ideas for me personally, trying out different perspectives. You could call the album an introduction to pessimism as a concept, I guess. It is a very dark album, but not negative…"

Additionally, of the sound, he hints, "It still sounds like At The Gates, 100 per cent. It is just more of everything…"

The Nightmare Of Being was mixed and mastered by Jens Bogren, and is due out on July 2 via Century Media Records. More details will be unveiled on April 30, so watch this space…

The tracklist is as follows:

1. Spectre Of Extinction
2. The Paradox
3. The Nightmare Of Being
4. Garden Of Cyrus
5. Touched By The White Hands Of Death
6. The Fall Into Time
7. Cult Of Salvation
8. The Abstract Enthroned
9. Cosmic Pessimism
10. Eternal Winter Of Reason

And the artwork looks like this:

Check out more:

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?