Code Orange drop surprise companion album to 2020’s Underneath

Listen to What Is Really Underneath?, a new ‘part-remix, part-soundtrack’ companion album to Code Orange’s incredible 2020 record Underneath.

Code Orange drop surprise companion album to 2020’s Underneath
Emily Carter

As promised in this week’s exclusive Kerrang! Cover Story, the mighty Code Orange are back with a surprise album… with a twist.

The band have shared a 14-song companion piece to 2020’s Underneath album, describing this new record – entitled What Is Really Underneath? – as ‘part-remix, part-soundtrack’.

If that’s not enough there’s also an accompanying short film, helmed by Code Orange’s Eric ‘Shade’ Balderose, and scored by various parts of What Is Really Underneath?.

Speaking to K! about the purpose behind this companion album, frontman Jami Morgan explains: “I think it’s important to show people different corners of what it is that we do. We didn’t want to do a remix record in the sense of anyone else remixing our stuff – even though there’s a lot of amazing people out there. We wanted it to be a soundtrack to the record. Listening to this can kind of inform that world and the character ideas we were putting down in our art.”

Watch the What Is Really Underneath? short film below:

See the full What Is Really Underneath? tracklist:

1. Drowning In It
2. So Below
3. The Shell
4. Club.Cold.Metal
5. Your_Demise
6. Prismatic Shame
7. The Cutters Theme
8. Down We Go
9. A Life In The Box
10. Smaller Everyday
11. The Whispering Souls
12. A Thin Reflective Line
13. What Is Really Underneath?
14. The Path To Paradise…

And listen to the full thing below:

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?