Exclusive: Call Of The Void Bring Unrelenting Rage and Sludge Riffs on God Hunts

Hear the new single from Call Of The Void's forthcoming third album, Buried In Light.

Exclusive: Call Of The Void Bring Unrelenting Rage and Sludge Riffs on God Hunts
Cat Jones

When we spoke to Call Of The Void vocalist Patrick Alberts recently for our roundup of some of the best heavy bands in Denver, Colorado, he described the band by asking the question, “What if Cannibal Corpse was a punk band and played Neurosis riffs?” While admittedly a funny image, this is an apt description: Call Of The Void take the basic tenets of sludge metal and turn the genre on its head by adding punk beats, unsettlingly dirgy low-end, and vocals that would make Aaron Turner of ISIS proud.

The band will release their third record, Buried In Light, on May 10 -- but you can get a taste of it below with their new single, God Hunts.

Regarding the song’s themes, guitarist Nathan Siegrist says, “This song is about forced religious indoctrination of at risk people/children. A tool used to maintain numbers in religious organizations, especially in small outsider groups. How families break the minds of their children to strip them of their individuality for self serving purposes. ‘God is harvesting the mind.’”

Drummer Gordon Koch says, “Another deviation from the normal Call of the Void -- this song was one of the first written and kick started the mood of the whole record. We wanted an unrelenting headbanger with depth and heart.”

See Call Of The Void on tour:


10 - Record Release show, Denver, CO at the Hi-Dive

w/ Cult Leader

21 - Salt Lake City, UT at The Beehive

22 - Boise, ID at The Shredder

23 - Seattle, WA at The Highline

24 - Vancouver, WA at Modified Ghost

25 - Portland, OR at Tonic Lounge

w/ Noisem

26 - Oakland, CA at Oakland Metro

27 - Sacramento, CA at Blue Lamp

28 - Reno, NV at The Holland Project

29 - Las Vegas, NV at Dive Bar

30 - Santa Fe, NM at The Cave

Buried In Light is out on May 10 via Translation Loss Records, but you can preorder it now.


The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?