Foo Fighters are releasing a disco album for Record Store Day 2021

Introducing Foo Fighters' new disco alter-egos the Dee Gees, and their upcoming RSD album Hail Satin…

Foo Fighters are releasing a disco album for Record Store Day 2021
Emily Carter

Remember when Foo Fighters covered the Bee Gees as the Dee Gees and it was absolutely bloody brilliant? Well, now they've just announced a full album of disco material.

For Record Store Day on July 17, the Dee Gees are set to share 10-track album Hail Satin (nice), covering four Bee Gees tracks – You Should Be Dancing, Night Fever, Tragedy and More Than A Woman – plus Andy Gibb's Shadow Dancing. They'll also be reworking five Medicine At Midnight songs and presumably turning them disco: Making A Fire, Shame Shame, Waiting On A War, No Son Of Mine and Cloudspotter.

Of the release, which was recorded at the band's own Studio 606, the Foos say: "Introducing… the Dee Gees!!! Hail Satin – coming to a local record store and dance party near you July 17!!"

Quiz: How much do you know about Dave Grohl?

When they unveiled their You Should Be Dancing cover for the BBC in February, Dave Grohl told Jo Wiley: "We’ve been going down to our studio every day and filming things and recording things, and this one day we had our list of things we were supposed to do and it said, 'Record a cover song for Jo.’

"And while we were having this conversation somebody said, 'Hey, have you seen that Bee Gees documentary?’ And I was like the last person on earth – the only person that hadn’t seen it! So I was like, 'Why don’t we just do a Bee Gees song?’ And someone was just like, 'Okay… how do you wanna do it?!’ And I said, 'Well, let’s do it like the Bee Gees.’

"We started recording the instrumental track, and then I thought, 'Okay, well I’m gonna go out and sing it…’ and let me tell you: I have never, ever in my life sung like that, but it was the easiest song I have ever sung in my entire life! I sang the song, and it was like six minutes and I was done. I should have been singing like this for the last 25 years!"

See the full Hail Satin tracklist:

1. You Should Be Dancing
2. Night Fever
3. Tragedy
4. Shadow Dancing
5. More Than A Woman
6. Making A Fire
7. Shame Shame
8. Waiting On A War
9. No Son Of Mine
10. Cloudspotter

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?