Hear Greg Puciato guest on the huge new Carpenter Brut single, Imaginary Fire

French synthwave master Carpenter Brut has shared a single featuring Greg Puciato, and announced details of “massive and violent” new album Leather Terror.

Hear Greg Puciato guest on the huge new Carpenter Brut single, Imaginary Fire
Emily Carter
Jim Louvau

Greg Puciato has teamed up with Carpenter Brut for a huuuuge new single, Imaginary Fire.

The track is taken from Carpenter Brut's just-announced new album Leather Terror (the follow-up to 2018's excellent Leather Teeth), which is due out on April 1 via Universal.

"After spending much of 2018 touring, I had decided to take a long break to compose the new album of the trilogy," says the French synthwave titan of the LP. "The pandemic confirmed that my choice to stay home was the right one. I ended up taking over a year and a half to compose this album. I made a lot of decisions with the time I had that I wouldn't have had time to make if the pandemic hadn't happened.

“I wanted to make the whole thing as massive as possible. There is no guitar on this album. I did everything with synths. Even though I didn't know exactly how I wanted the album to sound at first, I knew I wanted it to be massive and violent.”

Of new single Imaginary Fire, Greg Puciato says, “I'm really proud of this one, happy to cross these musical paths. I love how the video turned out too. Lyrically the song is pretty to the point. Two people frustratingly trying to get rid of their fears and their made-up bullshit so they can move forward, together or separate, free of outcome.”

Check it out:

The full Leather Terror tracklist is as follows:

1. Opening Title
2. Straight Outta Hell
3. The Widow Maker
4. Imaginary Fire
5. …Good Night, Goodbye
6. Day Stalker
7. Night Prowler
8. Lipstick Masquerade
9. Color Me Blood
10. Stabat Mater
11. Paradisi Gloria
12. Leather Terror

And the artwork looks like this:

Catch Carpenter Brut live at the following dates:


4 Manchester O2 Academy
5 London O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire
6 Bristol O2 Academy

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?