Joyce Manor Announce New Compilation Album, Songs From Northern Torrance

Listen to House Warning Party, taken from Joyce Manor's upcoming rarities album.

Joyce Manor Announce New Compilation Album, Songs From Northern Torrance

Joyce Manor have unveiled a 'new' song, House Warning Party, taken from their upcoming compilation record Songs From Northern Torrance.

The California indie punks will be releasing the 10-track album – which is billed as "a collection of early material that offers a glimpse into the band’s humble beginnings as an acoustic two-piece" – on May 29 digitally and on vinyl September 18 via Epitaph Records, with the first taste of what to expect available now courtesy of the one-minute-long House Warning Party.

Read this next: Joyce Manor: Album by album with Barry Johnson

“A lot of early Joyce Manor songs are actually leftovers from earlier bands, but House Warning Party was the first song I wrote specifically for Joyce Manor,” explains frontman Barry Johnson. “I was working at the Long Beach Aquarium and the first line of the song came to me while I was perusing the vending machine on my break. They had some LifeSavers and on the packaging it said ‘five flavors’ and the opening line of the song just popped in my head. The rest of the lyrics came effortlessly and the song was fully written in about the time it takes to listen to.

“Listening to it 10 years later it sounds young and inspired and I’m impressed at how much of a story I was able to tell in just over a minute.”

Check it out below:

The full tracklist for Songs From Northern Torrance is:

1. House Warning Party
2. Fuck Koalacaust
3. DFHP?
4. Danke Schoen
5. Who Gave You A Baby
6. Constant Nothing
7. Done Right Discount Flooring
8. 5 Beer Plan
9. Chumped
10. Leather Jacket

Read this next: 11 bands who wouldn't be here without Weezer

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?