Lamb Of God Release New Song, Memento Mori

Listen to Lamb Of God's new song Memento Mori, taken from their upcoming self-titled album

Lamb Of God Release New Song, Memento Mori

After teasing it on Instagram, Lamb Of God have released new track Memento Mori – the opening song to their upcoming self-titled album.

The song title is Latin for 'be mindful of death', and comes at a poignant time as the world tries to combat the coronavirus pandemic.

“There is a vast amount of indisputably real and depressingly negative occurrences happening across the globe,” explains frontman Randy Blythe.“Currently, at the forefront of everyone’s mind is the global COVID-19 pandemic. This is a very real concern, and proper precautions need to be taken by everyone in order to protect those most at risk – the elderly, infirm, and immunocompromised.

READ THIS: 10 bands who have been banned by the church

"It is indeed a scary time, but in this hyper-connected age with its 24/7 never-ending news cycle of atrocity, outrage, and lurid click-bait headlines – not to mention ill-informed lunatics running amok and spreading misinformation and panic on social media – it is all too easy to lose sight of the fact that life is still carrying on, and good things do in fact still happen.”

Randy wrote Memento Mori months before the coronavirus outbreak as warcry against humankind's reliance on smartphones, computers and television screens. Technology that primarily brings us bad news.

"While these devices can be useful tools, and it is important to stay informed, it is equally important to remain engaged with the real, physical world we with live in, not just digitally filtered representations of reality," Randy continues.

"I wrote the narrative music video treatment a few months ago to illustrate how warped and myopic our mental states can become when we fail to remain engaged with that reality – if all you pay attention to is catastrophe, then soon you will begin to see monsters everywhere you look.

"The actual monsters we used in the video are Sinisteria, a local Richmond, Virginia haunted house/dark performance troupe I met on the street at our annual Krampus Nacht parade. Richmond has a strong tradition of loud music and weird costumed monsters working hand in hand to make salient points – we are the birthplace of GWAR, after all – and I couldn’t be more pleased with the results.

READ THIS: The 75 best albums of 2010s

"Music has always been there for me, raising my spirits during hard times, and it is my hope that this song’s positive message will do the same for fans of our music right now and beyond. The release date for the tune was set a good while ago, but the timing seems eerily prescient to me now. So enjoy the song and video, and then remember to step away from the screens for a bit - real life is waiting for you.

"We only get one shot, so don’t waste this day. Everyone be well, keep a cool head, take care of yourselves, and take care of each other.”

Lamb Of God tracklist:

1. Memento Mori
2. Checkmate
3. Gears
4. Reality Bath
5. New Colossal Hate
6. Resurrection Man
7. Poison Dream (feat. Jamey Jasta)
8. Routes (feat. Chuck Billy)
9. Bloodshot Eyes
10. On The Hook

Lamb Of God's upcoming album will be released on May 8 via Nuclear Blast.

We spoke to Randy Blythe all about the new Lamb Of God album, sobriety and the end of the world in a recent issue of Kerrang! magazine. Order your copy now with an exclusive A2 lithograph print!

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?