Opeth Announce A New Album To Be Released This Fall

Swedish prog-metallers Opeth will drop their 13th studio release later this year.

Opeth Announce A New Album To Be Released This Fall
Stuart Wood

It's been a hot second since seminal Swedish death metal-turned-prog act Opeth dropped a studio album, the last one being 2016's Sorceress. Now, the band has announced that they will be releasing a new record this coming fall.

Opeth's 13th studio album will be called In Cauda Venenum, and will be released later this year via Moderbolaget Records and Nuclear Blast Entertainment. Interestingly enough, there will be two versions of In Cauda Venenum, one in English and the other in Swedish.

The track listing for the album is as follows:

01. Livet's Trädgård / Garden Of Earthly Delights (Intro)
02. Svekets Prins / Dignity
03. Hjärtat Vet Vad Handen Gör / Heart In Hand
04. De Närmast Sörjande / Next Of Kin
05. Minnets Yta / Lovelorn Crime
06. Charlatan
07. Ingen Sanning Är Allas / Universal Truth
08. Banemannen / The Garroter
09. Kontinuerlig Drift / Continuum
10. Allting Tar Slut / All Things Will Pass

And here's the cover art:

Awesome. We'll let you know when a release date has been announced.

Opeth signed to Nuclear Blast in 2016 for the release of Sorceress. When the band joined to the label's roster, Nuclear Blast head Markus Staiger released a statement saying, “I am honoured that Opeth has joined the Nuclear Blast family. Mikael Åkerfeldt and his fellow bandmates have demonstrated time and time again that Opeth are a band that never releases an album that sounds the same. You never know what their new music will sound like! Nuclear Blast has been following the musical journey of Opeth from the beginning with Orchid to landmark albums like Still Life, Deliverance, Damnation and Blackwater Park, right up to 2014’s Pale Communion. The band has become one of the most challenging artists in rock music today. It is not often that we get to work with musicians of their calibre and I am thrilled to have such a unique genre-leader on the label.The future for Opeth and Nuclear Blast looks very bright.”

Read this next:

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?