System Of A Down's Serj Tankian announces new solo EP, Elasticity

Watch Serj Tankian's new video for Elasticity, taken from the SOAD frontman's upcoming EP of the same name.

System Of A Down's Serj Tankian announces new solo EP, Elasticity
Emily Carter

After teasing new solo song Elasticity earlier this week, Serj Tankian has not only now unveiled the single, but announced details of an upcoming EP of the same name.

The System Of A Down frontman's new five-track solo EP is due out on March 19 via Alchemy Recordings/BMG, with Serj explaining of how it came about: "When I conceived possibly doing another record with the guys from System Of A Down a few years back, I started working on a set of songs that I arranged in rock format for that purpose.

"As we weren’t able to see eye to eye on the vision going forward with an SOAD album, I decided to release these songs under my moniker."

Read this: The story of nu-metal in 14 songs

In May last year, Serj hinted at this new EP and explained that the title was sort of a System Of A Down reference. "For me, it’s not Toxicity but it is Toxicity," he laughed. "That’s what I’m thinking of calling it. I haven’t finalised it, but that’s what I’m thinking of calling it."

He also revealed of the material's sound: "I always have random rock tracks done at different times and I sit on them. And then one day the right project or right idea for releasing them will come along. They all have piano or synthesizers, which is a little different than the four-person crew with System, although we had some synths as well. It’s got stuff that’s really heavy, heavy and there’s a funny aspect and then there’s a song about my son.

"It kind of runs the gauntlet on diversity of thematic expression: political, non-political. I guess that’s always been me, all over the place. I think I’m gonna call it Elasticity just because I wanted to do it with System and it didn’t happen…"

Watch the Elasticity video below:

The Elasticity tracklist is as follows:

1. Elasticity
2. Your Mom
3. Rumi
4. How Many Times?
5. Electric Yerevan

And the artwork looks like this:

System Of A Down will headline this year’s Download Festival alongside KISS and Biffy Clyro. Get your tickets now.

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?