The Devil Wears Prada announce new EP: "The heaviest music of our career…"

The Devil Wears Prada have announced a follow-up to their 2010 Zombie EP, ZII.

The Devil Wears Prada announce new EP: "The heaviest music of our career…"
Emily Carter

Ohio metalcore crew The Devil Wears Prada are releasing a new five-track EP next month.

The band's upcoming record is entitled ZII, and is considered the 'next chapter' on from their Zombie EP – 11 years after that record's release.

"There's no question that the Zombie EP is a fan-favourite and a record that really set the pace for us as a heavier band," TDWP explain. "A goal we had for this EP was to pay tribute to ZI while honing in on the characteristics that we enjoy about heavy music today and the directions we want to see it heading.

Read this: 10 bands who wouldn't be here without Slayer

"We just had our first song go to radio with Chemical, and now in the same year, we will be releasing the heaviest music of our career with ZII," they continue. "This isn't just a new chapter for the Zombie EP; this is a new chapter for us as a band, and an opportunity to lean into both sounds in ways that feel better than ever. We've found our footing with these six members. Now we're stepping on the gas and not letting up.

"Before, there were five songs about how to fend off the apocalypse. Now, there are five songs of hopelessness against the hoard."

ZII is due out on May 21 via Solid State Records. The Devil Wears Prada will be performing the EP in full on May 15 – watch a trailer for that below:

The full ZII EP tracklist is:

1. Nightfall
2. Forlorn
3. Termination
4. Nora
5. Contagion

And the artwork looks like this:

Check out more:

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?