The Dirty Nil announce new album, Free Rein To Passions

Watch the video for The Dirty Nil’s new single Nicer Guy, taken from their upcoming fourth album Free Rein To Passions.

The Dirty Nil announce new album, Free Rein To Passions
Emily Carter
Steph Montani

The Dirty Nil are back with new music! Following 2021’s ace Fuck Art, the Ontario trio are set to release fourth album Free Rein To Passions next month.

Due out on May 26 via Dine Alone Records, the 10-track LP is a “nastier” album than its predecessor, according to frontman Luke Bentham. “Fuck Art had a lot of singing on it,” he explains. “There were not a lot of parts where you could just jam out on riffs. Free Rein To Passions is a bit of a nastier record where we didn’t sweat the small insignificant details. If it sounded cool, we went with it.”

To coincide with the announcement, The Dirty Nil have unleashed lead single Nicer Guy. Luke shares: “I’d been sitting on some of the guitar parts for a long time, husbanding them for a suitably righteous song. In the depths of lockdown, I dusted them off and came up with the words. It was a happy day in an otherwise lonely time.

“Special shoutout to Kyle’s extremely tight playing and Sam’s stampeding elephant bass. Sincerity can feel uncomfortable, but this one feels right.”

Watch the video for Nicer Guy below:

See the full Free Rein To Passions tracklist:

1. Celebration
2. Nicer Guy
3. Undefeated
4. Atomize Me
5. Land Of Clover
6. Blowing Up Things In The Woods
7. Stupid Jobs
8. 1990
9. Free Rein To Passions
10. The Light The Void And Everything

And the album cover:

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?