Evanescence August 2020 Promo
The News

Amy Lee On Why Evanescence Are Releasing Their New Album One Song At A Time”

Why aren’t we getting Evanescence’s The Bitter Truth in one fell swoop? Amy Lee explains…

With three new singles out in 2020 already (Wasted On You, The Game Is Over and the more recent Use My Voice), Evanescence are keeping the new music flowing this year. And with this trio of tracks set to be taken from their upcoming album The Bitter Truth, it would seem as though the band are sticking with the typical release a few singles and then the full record’ way of doing things – but that isn’t the case this time around.

In a new interview on SiriusXM, vocalist Amy Lee has explained the reasoning behind Evanescence’s incremental” approach to unveiling The Bitter Truth, explaining how they are still in the writing process, and want to really let fans in on how the full-length is made.

Read this: The 20 greatest Evanescence songs – ranked

We don’t have a release date, but I like to look at it like it’s happening now,” she says. The idea behind this whole thing was always to go one song at a time, release it in real time with the fans while it’s still going on and it’s still fresh and live in the moment more. So, in my mind it is being released. This is part of it. We live in a new world where it’s not all about just dropping a big pile of music all at once. People don’t always consume music that way. I don’t.”

Amy continues: I still want to make an album – that’s a part of who we are and I think that’s important to our fans, so we’re doing that. We will drop the back half or whatever soon, but I don’t have a date because I never want to put a date down when I’m still writing. I don’t want to get to the end and say, Eh anything. Just throw some words down.’ I can’t do that. It has to be right. Sometimes it takes a minute.”

Recently, the singer said that the songs that make up The Bitter Truth so far are going to a place that’s even more raw”.

[2017 orchestral album Synthesis] was incredible, as was the experience of performing with a live orchestra, but it took a lot of work on an internal level,” she explained. By the end of it we were all really ready to get back to rocking. I don’t want to say our new album is stripped back, because it’s not – it’s big, powerful and luscious. But we haven’t done any orchestra [parts] on any of the new songs, and that’s not because we couldn’t get together with one because of the pandemic!”

Watch Amy’s new interview below:

Catch Evanescence and Within Temptation live next year on the Worlds Collide Tour:

September 2021

8 Zurich, CH, Hallenstadion Zurich
9 Milan, IT, Mediolanum Forum Milan
11 Berlin, DE, Velodrom
12 Gliwice, PL, Arena Gliwice
14 Leipzig, DE, Quarterback Immobilien Arena
15 Hamburg, DE, Barclaycard Arena
17 Amsterdam, NL, Ziggo Dome
18 Amsterdam, NL, Ziggo Dome
20 Paris, FR, Accorhotels Arena
21 Düsseldorf, DE, Mitsubishi Electric Halle
22 Munich, DE, Zenith
24 Esch-Sur-Alzette, LU, Rockhal
26 Frankfurt, DE, Festhalle
27 Brussels, BE, Palais 12
28 Brussels, BE, Palais 12
30 Glasgow, UK, The SSE Hydro Arena 

October 2021

1 Leeds, UK, First Direct Arena
3 Birmingham, UK, Utilita Arena Birmingham
4 London, UK, The O2
7 Madrid, Spain, Palacio Vistalegre (Evanescence only)

Get your tickets here.

Within Temptation Evanescence Worlds Collide 2021 Poster
Posted on August 27th 2020, 3:30p.m.
Read More
Svalbard in The K! Pit
Brit metallers Svalbard hit The K! Pit in association with Nordic Spirit at Blondies, our favourite East London dive bar.
Holding Absence in The K! Pit
Melodic post-hardcore crew Holding Absence hit The K! Pit in association with Nordic Spirit at Blondies, our favourite East London dive bar.
The 50 best albums from 2011

From Mastodon and Machine Head to Foo Fighters and Frank Turner, we rank the greatest albums from the year 2011

Listen to Biffy Clyro's new single, A Hunger In Your Haunt

Biffy Clyro’s new single A Hunger In Your Haunt is described by Simon Neil as an expression of pure frustration” and a self-motivating mantra”.