At The Gates The Nightmare Of Being header
The News

At The Gates announce new album, The Nightmare Of Being

At The Gates’ Tomas Lindberg hints that new album The Nightmare Of Being sonically has just more of everything”…

Gothenburg death metal pioneers At The Gates have announced their new album, The Nightmare Of Being.

The Swedes have shared the record artwork and release date, with vocalist Tomas Lindberg teasing of what’s to come conceptually: The overall theme deals with the topic of pessimism, and I have been diving deep down in pessimistic philosophers. Trying to understand this way of looking at the world. 

Read this: 11 bands who wouldn’t be here without At The Gates

It is not a negative album, more a gateway into new ideas for me personally, trying out different perspectives. You could call the album an introduction to pessimism as a concept, I guess. It is a very dark album, but not negative…”

Additionally, of the sound, he hints, It still sounds like At The Gates, 100 per cent. It is just more of everything…”

The Nightmare Of Being was mixed and mastered by Jens Bogren, and is due out on July 2 via Century Media Records. More details will be unveiled on April 30, so watch this space…

The tracklist is as follows:

1. Spectre Of Extinction
2. The Paradox
3. The Nightmare Of Being
4. Garden Of Cyrus
5. Touched By The White Hands Of Death
6. The Fall Into Time
7. Cult Of Salvation
8. The Abstract Enthroned
9. Cosmic Pessimism
10. Eternal Winter Of Reason

And the artwork looks like this:

At The Gates The Nightmare Of Being artwork
Posted on April 1st 2021, 4:26p.m.
Read More
Svalbard in The K! Pit
Brit metallers Svalbard hit The K! Pit in association with Nordic Spirit at Blondies, our favourite East London dive bar.
Holding Absence in The K! Pit
Melodic post-hardcore crew Holding Absence hit The K! Pit in association with Nordic Spirit at Blondies, our favourite East London dive bar.
At The Gates’ Tomas Lindberg: “The death metal scene was stagnating. We thought, ‘Let's make something important’”

At The Gates’ leader Tomas Lindberg relives a life of slaughtering souls, the Gothenburg scene, and why the band are always moving forward…

State Champs have covered Fall Out Boy's Chicago Is So Two Years Ago

Hear State Champs’ absolutely wicked cover of Fall Out Boy’s Take This To Your Grave track.