Lars Ulrich Header Credit Perou 2
The News

Lars Ulrich Reflects On Metallica’s First Ever Gig

Metallica drummer Lars Ulrich remembers his first ever gig

37 years ago this month, Metallica played their first ever show.

Taking place on March 14 at Radio City in Anaheim, California, they played a nine-song set and entry was just $15!

Drummer Lars Ulrich has marked this moment in metal history by sharing the original show flyer on Instagram, along with the handwritten setlist and a page from his diary at the time.

1st ever gig. Very nervous. Only band. Dave broke a string on the first song. Played 50-50!!! Went down pretty good,” reads Lars’ diary entry. It’s safe to say they progressed from ‘pretty good’ later on.

You eagle-eyed observers may notice that there’s not a lot of ‘Tallica originals being performed here at the first outing,” says Lars of the setlist. “Almost all NWOBHM covers, most of which ended up being recorded later along the way and showing up on various Garage releases.”

Here’s that setlist from Metallica’s first ever show:

  1. Hit The Lights
  2. Blitzkrieg (Blitzkrieg cover)
  3. Helpless (Diamond Head cover)
  4. Jump In The Fire
  5. Let It Loose (Savage cover)
  6. Sucking My Love (Diamond Head cover)
  7. Am I Evil? (Diamond Head cover)
  8. The Prince (Diamond Head cover)
  9. Killin’ Time (Sweet Savage cover)

Metallica are headlining the Etihad Stadium in Manchester on June 18 (get your tickets now) and Twickenham Stadium in London on June 20 (get your tickets now).

Posted on March 19th 2019, 11:48am
Read More
FOUR YEAR STRONG - Recording Brain Pain With Will Putney
Go behind the scenes with Four Year Strong as they record vocals for their new album, Brain Pain.
In Conversation With Winston McCall of PARKWAY DRIVE
Parkway Drive frontman Winston McCall stopped by our office to chat about his life and career.
Metallica Launch Fan Tournament To Pick The Band's Best Song

What’s your favourite Metallica track? The band are challenging fans to choose their very best…

Download Festival Announce Virtual 2020 Line-Up

Download TV’s virtual event will feature 2020’s planned festival headliners Iron Maiden, KISS and System Of A Down, plus a load more amazing bands.