Reproductive Justice Header
The News

This Powerful Metal Compilation Benefits Reproductive Rights

Riffs For Reproductive Justice features 33 metal tracks, with all proceeds going to aid reproductive rights.

The Black Flags Over Brooklyn collective has released a giant new compilation in the name of reproductive rights.

The project, called Riffs For Reproductive Justice, gathers 33 different artists across the metal board. Some of the bigger names involved include Louisiana sludge band Thou, Chicago’s Racetraitor, and Georgian duo Jucifer, whose music can be found alongside up-and-comers like Iowa’s aggressive grindcore crew Closet Witch, Minnesotan black metallers False, and a collaboration between Massachusetts sludge-gaze act Elizabeth Colour Wheel and one-man doom act Planning for Burial.

Rfrj Cover Art

“This compilation is just one small effort made by a few dozen people who care, who are intimately affected by this, and who love other people who are afraid of what the future will bring,” reads the Bandcamp page. “There are so many other brave individuals and groups who have been putting in work around this issue for decades, and my hope here is to raise a significant amount of funds from within the metal, punk, and overall music fan communities to allow them to continue that necessary work.”

Check out the full tracklist below:

  1. Ails – Mare Weighs Down
  2. Ancst – Of Gallows and Pyres
  3. Axebreaker – The Sacrament
  4. Book of Sand – Seek Out Your Oppressors and Murder Them
  5. Brian Barr (Aseethe) – Found Waves
  6. Cliterati – Fast & Frightening (L7 cover)
  7. Closet Witch – Arlington Cemetery (Demo)
  8. Dawn Ray’d – Emptiness Beneath The Great Emptiness (Live at Roadburn)
  9. Deafest – Rains Across Peaks
  10. Elizabeth Colour Wheel + Planning for Burial – Whiskey and Wine
  11. Emma Ruth Rundle – Dead Set Eyes (Demo)
  12. False – Heavy as a Church Tower
  13. Fucked and Bound – Kool Thang (Sonic Youth cover)
  14. Hether Fortune – Birds of Prey
  15. Immortal Bird – Saprophyte
  16. Ithaca – Secret Space
  17. Jucifer – The Object of Power
  18. Many Blessings – Harm Signal
  19. Racetraitor – Journey of 5 Dead Stars
  20. Redbait – Nazi Punks Fuck Off! (Dead Kennedys cover)
  21. Sonja – Nylon Nights
  22. Stander – Nguzu Nguzu
  23. Sunrot – Agonal State
  24. Svalbard – Pro-Life?
  25. Terminal Nation – Poder Absoluto
  26. Thou – My Girl (Nirvana cover)
  27. Trophy Hunt – Burning Womb
  28. Twilight Fauna – Fires Carry You Home
  29. Twin Temple – Devil Didn’t Make Me Do It (Live)
  30. Underdark – With Bruised & Bloodied Feet
  31. Vile Creature – A Steady Descent Into the Soil
  32. Violet Cold – She Spoke of Her Devastation
  33. Woe – A Violent Dread

All proceeds from Riffs For Reproductive Justice will be donated to the National Network of Abortion Funds and the Yellowhammer Fund, so if you like these bands and wish to support the cause, head over to the Bandcamp page.

Read this next:

Posted on July 2nd 2019, 6:19pm
Read More
FOUR YEAR STRONG - Recording Brain Pain With Will Putney
Go behind the scenes with Four Year Strong as they record vocals for their new album, Brain Pain.
In Conversation With Winston McCall of PARKWAY DRIVE
Parkway Drive frontman Winston McCall stopped by our office to chat about his life and career.
My Chemical Romance Frontman Gerard Way Releases Four Solo Songs

Listen to four previously-unreleased solo songs from My Chemical Romance frontman Gerard Way.

Billy Talent Premiere New Single, I Beg To Differ (This Will Get Better)

Billy Talent have released new single I Beg To Differ (This Will Get Better), along with an accompanying lyric video.