Yungblud Weird Album Cover Header
The News

YUNGBLUD Announces New Album Weird!; Streams God Save Me, But Don’t Drown Me Out

Listen to God Save Me, But Don’t Drown Me Out from YUNGBLUD’s just-announced second album, Weird!

After teasing yesterday that his next era was upon us, YUNGBLUD has now announced details of his upcoming second album Weird!.

To coincide with the news, Dom has also unveiled the seventh track on the record, God Save Me, But Don’t Drown Me Out. Check that out below, and pre-order Weird! – which is due out on November 13 – here.

Read this: YUNGBLUD is the weirdo this generation needs

Speaking to Kerrang! in May about what is now the title-track of Weird!, YUNGBLUD revealed of album number two: “The truth is, I’m not angry anymore. [Debut album] 21st Century Liability was so fucking angry, but that’s not who I am now. And that’s not to say that the new album is me going soft, because there are some fucking ragers and songs for the moshers on there, but this is going to be a record of optimism. How can I be angry when I now exist alongside this community of people where my insecurities, which I once considered to be a handicap, are now celebrated? This community was built by a bunch of outsiders, but I don’t feel like an outsider anymore because of how I’ve been welcomed by all these people. How the fuck can I be angry at that?”

He continued: “The album is a neat whisky, uncensored version of my life: it talks about liberation in terms of sex, my identity and my mental health, as well as love, heartbreak, self-harm, suicide, depression… it’s like a series of Skins. I want it to be naïve and full of contradictions. This record doesn’t give a fuck what people think about it, because it’s telling the listener what life is truly about. I have a dialogue with my fanbase that allows us to say what we think – we’re rebelling against the idea that speaking our minds is wrong.”

Listen to God Save Me, But Don’t Drown Me Out below:

The full tracklist for Weird! is as follows:

1. Theresa
2. Cotton Candy
3. Strawberry Lipstick
4. Mars
5. Superdeadfriends
6. Love Song
7. God Save Me, But Don’t Drown Me Out
8. Ice Cream Man
9. Weird!
10. Charity
11. It’s Quiet In Beverley Hills
12. Freak Show

And the brilliant album cover looks like this:

Yungblud Weird Album Cover

Catch YUNGBLUD live at the following dates next year:

March 2021

8 Nottingham Rock City
9 Nottingham Rock City
10 Glasgow Barrowlands
11 Glasgow Barrowlands
15 London O2 Forum Kentish Town
16 London O2 Forum Kentish Town
17 London O2 Forum Kentish Town
18 London O2 Forum Kentish Town
20 London O2 Forum Kentish Town

Get your tickets here.

Read this: 10 of the most distinctive band aesthetics in rock and metal

Posted on September 17th 2020, 1:42pm
Read More
The Kerrang! Heavy Trivia Quiz
Put your rock and metal knowledge to the ultimate test!
Bush Live In Los Angeles
A full band, full production performance from post-grunge icons Bush
Machine Gun Kelly: YUNGBLUD And I Are The Modern-Day Elton John And Jimi Hendrix

MGK says he and YUNGBLUD “can make some sort of union of rock stars” on their respective sides of the pond.

Hayley Williams To Release New Song On Petals For Armor: Self-Serenades EP

Hayley Williams announces the Petals For Armor: Self-Serenades EP – featuring a brand-new song…