Benji Webbe’s Dub War return with first album of all-new material in over 25 years

Check out Dub War’s new single Blackkk Man, taken from upcoming album Westgate Under Fire (their first record of original material since 1996’s Wrong Side Of Beautiful).

Benji Webbe’s Dub War return with first album of all-new material in over 25 years
Emily Carter
Ania Shrimpton

Dub War are back! The band featuring Skindred's Benji Webbe, Richie Glover and Jeff Rose have unveiled details of their first album of new material since 1996’s Wrong Side Of Beautiful.

The trio's upcoming full-length – entitled Westgate Under Fire – is due out on August 5 via Earache Records, with lead single (and album opener) Blackkk Man out now. Of the track, Benji says, “This song is exactly how I was feeling at the time of Mr. Floyd's murder. This is a cry from my heart for equal rights and justice – and the other boys in the band feel the same as I do. No-one chooses the skin they're in – should the skin you're in help you to win? It’s a question we all need to think about! This racist injustice has been going on way too long and, unfortunately, even with all the cries and the pain, it still continues.”

Check it out below:

See the full Westgate Under Fire tracklist:

1. Blackkk Man
2. War Inna Babylon
3. Vibes In The Place
4. Art Of War
5. Reveal It
6. Mary Shelley
7. Bite Back
8. Coffin Lid
9. Crying Clowns
10. Get Back Up
11. Fun Done
12. Stay Together
13. Celtic Cross

The album will also feature special guest musicians Mikee 'KRUPA' Gregory, Spike T Smith, Mike Bordin, Roy Mayorga, Tanner Wayne, Ranking Roger, Dave Chavarri, Jamie Miller and Mikey Doling.

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?