Code Orange announce new album The Above

Listen to Code Orange’s new single Take Shape featuring Billy Corgan, taken from their upcoming album The Above

Code Orange announce new album The Above
Luke Morton
Tim Saccenti

Hardcore provocateurs Code Orange have announced details of their new album The Above.

Due for release on September 29 via Blue Grape Music, it follows their remix album earlier this year, and is the band's first 'proper' studio record since 2020's 5K-rated Underneath.

Following recent singles The Game and Grooming My Replacement, Code Orange have marked the LP announcement with a new video for Take Shape, featuring guest vocals from Smashing Pumpkins' own Billy Corgan.

Speaking about the video and his direct involvement, frontman Jami Morgan says, “I have been working on the concept for this video, and others to come, for about a year and a half. I am so thankful to have been able to sit under the learning tree of [frequent collaborator] Max Moore and our DP Eric Robbins. They allowed me to sit in on every minute of this process, from hiring to scouting, all the way to final colouring. Being that deep was a revelation and I have found a new love along the way. I couldn’t be prouder of the result.”

Check out the video below.

Speaking about The Above as a whole – and how it differs to previous records – Jami says, “We wanted the album to be able to wash over you with melody, aggression, and joy, but it was of equal importance that the closer you look, the more you are rewarded. It was to feel rooted in the 'analogue' world, but with threads of digital reality binding things together.

"We wanted the sound and even the recording process itself to reflect that edict, so we enlisted Steve Albini at Electrical Audio to get the most real and raw version of the band possible, even recording us all at once in a room together for the first time in our career.”

The Above tracklist

  1. Never Far Apart
  2. Theatre Of Cruelty
  3. Take Shape (feat. Billy Corgan)
  4. The Mask Of Sanity Slips
  5. Mirror
  6. A Drone Opting Out Of The Hive
  7. I Fly
  8. Splinter The Soul
  9. The Game
  10. Grooming My Replacement
  11. Snapshot
  12. Circle Through
  13. But A Dream…
  14. The Above

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?