Emma Ruth Rundle announces new album, Engine Of Hell

Listen to Return, the first taste of Emma Ruth Rundle's new album Engine Of Hell

Emma Ruth Rundle announces new album, Engine Of Hell
Luke Morton

Emma Ruth Rundle has announced details of her forthcoming fifth album, Engine Of Hell.

The follow-up to her 2018 solo studio outing On Dark Horses, it's the first new music from Emma since her incredible 5K-rated May Our Chambers Be Full collaboration with Thou (and follow-up EP).

Speaking about Engine Of Hell, Emma says: “Here are some very personal songs; here are my memories; here is me teetering on the very edge of sanity, dipping my toe into the outer reaches of space and I’m taking you with me and it’s very fucked up and imperfect.”

The album announcement also comes with new music in the form of Return, accompanied by a video directed by Emma herself.

Ruminating on the track itself, Emma says, it's “an examination of the existential. A fractured poem. Trying to quantify what something is definitely about or pontificating on its concrete meaning defeats the purpose of art making. I’m not a writer. I make music and images to express things that my words cannot convey or emote.

"I’ve been studying ballet and the practice of expression through movement, which I incorporated into the video. I choreographed a dance to the song – some of which you see. Pieces show through. Since completing Engine Of Hell, I’ve stepped away from music more and more and into things like dance, painting and working on ideas for videos or little films. Return is the result of the efforts.”

Engine As Hell will be released on November 5 via Sargent House.

Engine As Hell tracklist

1. Return
2. Blooms of Oblivion
3. Body
4. The Company
5. Dancing Man
6. Razor’s Edge
7. Citadel
8. In My Afterlife

READ THIS: Emma Ruth Rundle: The 10 songs that changed my life

Check out more:

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?