Foo Fighters: Hear previews of three new Medicine At Midnight songs

Ahead of the release of new album Medicine At Midnight, Foo Fighters have shared snippets of three awesome-sounding songs from the record.

Foo Fighters: Hear previews of three new Medicine At Midnight songs
Emily Carter
Danny Clinch

Ahead of new album Medicine At Midnight's release this Friday, Foo Fighters have started teasing the record's non-singles, unveiling snippets so far of three killer-sounding songs.

The rock titans have shared teasers for LP opener Making A Fire, plus Cloudspotter and the title-track. Given that we've already heard Shame Shame, Waiting On A War and No Son Of Mine, this means fans have only got three left to go (the closing trio of Holding Poison, Chasing Birds and Love Dies Young) until we've got a pretty good, rounded idea of what the whole thing will sound like.

Read this: 11 Hollywood actors who got their big break in music videos

Of course, Foo Fighters actually wanted to release their most 'unrecognisable' songs from the album first, as Dave Grohl explained to Kerrang! last year when discussing lead single Shame Shame.

“When we first started recording the record, we were recording songs that were recognisable as the Foo Fighters,” the frontman said. “Actually, the first song that we recorded is the first song on the record: Making A Fire. And that really kind of set the tone, like, 'Okay, this is really up and really fuckin’ big, and let’s keep moving in that direction.'

“After a few weeks I came in with this idea, which is originally based on a simple guitar riff and this unusual rhythm which is a drum set recorded in a stairwell, but then there’s this finger-snapping and stomping and clapping loop that’s behind it. Those two things started coming together, and rather than load a lot of things on top of it, we kept it really simple: there’s an acoustic guitar, an electric guitar, a bass, a vocal, and also this keyboard part. It was noticeably different than anything we’ve ever done, and I always think that when you’re releasing a song before an album, you want it to give a little bit of pretext for things to come; you want to present this to your audience as some sort of indication that we’re not just making the same Foo Fighters record again. And there was something about it, with the vibe and the rhythm, that just seems like new territory for us.”

Check out Foos' new teasers below:

The full Medicine At Midnight tracklist is as follows:

1. Making A Fire
2. Shame Shame
3. Cloudspotter
4. Waiting On A War
5. Medicine At Midnight
6. No Son Of Mine
7. Holding Poison
8. Chasing Birds
9. Love Dies Young

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?