IDLES announce new album Crawler, share lead single The Beachland Ballroom

Watch the video for IDLES' new single The Beachland Ballroom – the "most important song" on their upcoming album Crawler, according to vocalist Joe Talbot.

IDLES announce new album Crawler, share lead single The Beachland Ballroom
Emily Carter
Tom Ham

Following last year's awesome Ultra Mono, IDLES are already back with another record: the intriguingly titled Crawler.

The Bristol punks will be releasing album number four – produced by Kenny Beats and the band's own Mark Bowen – on November 12 via Partisan, with surprising (but great) lead single The Beachland Ballroom out now.

Of the track, frontman Joe Talbot reveals: "It’s the most important song on the album, really. There's so many bands that go through the small rooms and dream of making it into the big rooms. Being able to write a soul tune like this made me go, 'Fuck, we’re at a place where we're actually allowed to go to these big rooms and be creative and not just go through the motions and really appreciate what we’ve got.'

"The song is sort of an allegory of feeling lost and getting through it. It's one that I really love singing."

Read this: The story of British punk in 23 songs

Mark adds: "I didn’t know Joe could sing like that. He’s been trying to write Be My Baby since the very beginning, but he didn’t want to be the punk guy wearing the Motown clothes. He wanted it to feel natural, and this song is."

Watch the video for The Beachland Ballroom below:

See the tracklisting for Crawler:

1. MTT 420 RR
2. The Wheel
3. When the Lights Come On
4. Car Crash
5. The New Sensation
6. Stockholm Syndrome
7. The Beachland Ballroom
8. Crawl!
9. Meds
10. Kelechi
11. Progress
12. Wizz
13. King Snake
14. The End

And the album artwork:

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?