Chester Bennington Mark Morton Cross Off Promo
The News

Listen To Mark Morton’s New Single Featuring Chester Bennington

Cross Off is finally here.

Ahead of the release of his new solo album in March, Lamb Of God guitarist Mark Morton has unveiled a brand new single featuring Chester Bennington.

The song – titled Cross Off – was recorded in April 2017, just three months prior to the tragic loss of Chester in July. Of his experience recording with the late Linkin Park man, Mark says that it “was a very free flowing and natural process. We both really loved the song from its inception and everyone that worked on it put a lot of energy and emotion into it. I feel like you can really hear that in the track, and absolutely in Chester’s performance.”

Check out Cross Off in all its epic glory below.

The single artwork looks like this…

Mark Morton Cross Off Artwork

Cross Off is taken from Mark’s debut Anesthetic, which is due out on March 1 via WPP Records and Spinefarm Records.

Check out the full, star-studded tracklist below:

1. Cross Off (feat. Chester Bennington)
2. Sworn Apart (feat. Jacoby Shaddix)
3. Axis (feat. Mark Lanegan)
4. The Never (feat. Chuck Billy + Jake Oni)
5. Save Defiance (feat. Myles Kennedy)
6. Blur (feat. Mark Morales)
7. Back From The Dead (feat. Josh Todd)
8. Reveal (feat. Naeemah Maddox)
9. Imaginary Days
10. The Truth Is Dead (feat. Randy Blythe + Alissa White-Gluz)

This album wasn’t a concerted effort to start something outside Lamb of God,” Mark explains. “Music is always in my head, and until I write and record it, it’s stuck there. But once I record it, it’s out. It’s a catharsis, more for my own sanity.”

In an interview with Zane Lowe on Apple Music’s Beats 1, Morton talked about the recording process in more detail. “We just got in a room together and…shared a little bit about the meaning and how we each related to certain things about it,” he explained. “And then, we just sat across the table and started passing the lyric back and forth and trying ideas. We started meshing it all together from the outline that we had in preproduction into what it is that you hear now….I got to sit there at NRG Studios in Hollywood, behind the board, and watch Chester Bennington track a song. It was just an amazing experience.”

Read Kerrang!’s full chat with Mark Morton running through his new record’s tracklist right here.

Posted on January 8th 2019, 5:00pm
Read More
FIT FOR AN AUTOPSY - Recording The Sea of Tragic Beasts with Will Putney
Go behind the scenes with Fit For An Autopsy as they track songs for their upcoming album, The Sea of Tragic Beasts.
ENTER SHIKARI Live At Saint Vitus Bar
ENTER SHIKARI burn up Saint Vitus Bar in Brooklyn, New York, on their most recent Stop the Clocks U.S. tour.
Flammable Material: Randy Blythe And Jason Aalon Butler Go Head To Head

Lamb Of God’s Randy Blythe and FEVER 333’s Jason Aalon Butler are cut from the same uncompromising cloth – like the kind you shove into a Molotov cocktail before setting it alight. Let’s put them together and watch the sparks fly…

A Deep Dive Into Incubus' Pardon Me Video

We examine Incubus’ video for their turn-of-the-millennium smash Pardon Me