Tom Gabriel Warrior’s Triumph Of Death announce Resurrection Of The Flesh live album

The document of Tom’s live tribute to his influential and pioneering black metal band is set for release on November 10.

Tom Gabriel Warrior’s Triumph Of Death announce Resurrection Of The Flesh live album
Nick Ruskell
Roland Moeck

November just got an awful lot more morbid: legendary Triptykon singer/guitarist Tom Gabriel Warrior's Triumph Of Death have announced a live album, Resurrection Of The Flesh, due on November 10.

Recorded live this year at Hell’s Heroes Festival in Houston USA, Dark Easter Metal Meeting in Munich, Germany and SWR Barroselas Metal Fest in Portugal, the album is made up of performances of tracks by Tom's hugely influential pre-Celtic Frost band Hellhammer, which he started with late bassist and long-time collaborator Martin Eric Ain in 1982, and who split in 1984 without ever having played a concert.

"This album is, most importantly, testament to the unique connection that exists between the audience and this band," says Tom of the record. "Hellhammer's music was an underground token in 1982 to 1984, often ridiculed and shunned, and we owe the fact that we are now able to perform it all across the globe entirely to grace, openness, and enthusiasm of those who make exactly these concerts possible. They give us as much as we given them, and my gratitude to them knows no limits."

Playing as Triumph Of Death, Tom wanted to honour his past music, and enable the songs to be taken onstage, without naming it as a reunion.

"Hellhammer will never return and will never be reformed. It is absolutely impossible to reform a band so closely linked to a very specific and unique period in time," said Tom in 2019. "But Hellhammer's music exists, and it is an extremely important part of my life's path. And I would like to play it onstage before my demise."

Speaking to Kerrang! in 2020, Tom reflected on what made Hellhammer so different, saying: "In Switzerland, the cutting edge at the time was Krokus, who were a copy of AC/DC, and all the other local bands that I saw in basements were trying to copy them.

"What Hellhammer were doing was such a stretch for these people that once again we were outcasts, only this time we were musical outcasts. But we liked that. We didn’t want to associate with what we felt were musical peasants. Everybody in Hellhammer had some form of difficult youth, so we all felt attracted to music that was equally problematic. It’s clear to me now why it pushed normal people away; people who, in our view, caused the situation we found ourselves in. We wanted to create our own world with our own people and our own music, and fuck everybody else. The normal people who made us outcasts? We were glad if they didn’t want to hang out with us. So we basically closed the circle, and far from suffering for it, we became outcasts who enhanced it by playing radical music that pushed everybody away. We loved that. Fuck them all!”

Resurrection Of The Flesh will be available as :

  • Deluxe CD mediabook
  • Double gatefold LP w/booklet and posters on black vinyl and B&W swirl (HMV exclusive)
  • Super deluxe double LP bookpack with bonus 7” (red vinyl) single plus posters


  1. The Third Of The Storms (Evoked Damnation)
  2. Massacra
  3. Maniac
  4. Blood Insanity
  5. Decapitator
  6. Crucifixion
  7. Reaper
  8. Horus/Aggressor
  9. Revelations Of Doom
  10. Messiah
  11. Visions Of Mortality
  12. Triumph Of Death
  13. Bonus 7” (Super deluxe edition only)
  14. Decapitator (Live In Houston)

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?