Trivium unleash Feast Of Fire, announce new album In The Court Of The Dragon

Watch the video for Trivium's new single Feast Of Fire, and get the lowdown on their upcoming 10th album In The Court Of The Dragon.

Trivium unleash Feast Of Fire, announce new album In The Court Of The Dragon
Emily Carter

Following the enormous success of 2020's What The Dead Men Say, Trivium are wasting no time in dropping even more new material: they are set to release their 10th record In The Court Of The Dragon later this year.

The Orlando metal legends' upcoming full-length will arrive in full via Roadrunner Records on October 8, having been recorded in autumn last year at their home state's Full Sail University, and produced and mixed by Josh Wilbur.

And, after releasing the title-track (and album opener) in July, the quartet have shared new single Feast Of Fire, plus a video shot in their HQ, directed by John Deeb.

Read this: The most important gateway songs in rock, as chosen by the fans

"There's always that one song you aren't expecting when you begin writing a new album," begins bassist Paolo Gregoletto. "It could be a riff written on the spot in the rehearsal space, a lyric that pairs just right with a melody, or in the case of Feast Of Fire, sitting right there in front of us in the middle of a demo that Corey [Beaulieu, guitar] brought in. We were well into pre-production at Full Sail when we all decided that something about the demo we had tracked was good but could be even better. Our producer Josh Wilbur even had in his notes: 'Bridge is special, maybe so special it needs its own song.' We tore the song apart and began again on the spot.

"We went into this album knowing we had time to consider everything and anything that came about during this period, and if need be, we could start again if it didn’t feel right given that no touring was on the horizon."

Paolo continues: "I had the words Feast Of Fire written in my running list of notes for lyric ideas that I try to amass before we record. Something about the phrase stuck out to me. It felt like the missing piece of the story we were trying to tell with this album, a climactic moment, and a real centrepiece for the narrative.

"After all these years I’m still blown away at how a song can really appear out of thin air and take the album to a place you weren’t expecting. Those are the moments we are always looking for when making a record."

Watch the video for Feast Of Fire below:

Check out the full In The Court Of The Dragon tracklist:

1. In The Court Of The Dragon
2. Like A Sword Over Damocles
3. Feast Of Fire
4. A Crisis Of Revelation
5. The Shadow Of The Abattoir
6. No Way Back Just Through
7. Fall Into Your Hands
8. From Dawn To Decadence
9. The Phalanx

And see the album cover – which is an original oil painting by French artist Mathieu Nozieres.

"While the music of In The Court Of The Dragon was taking shape, we knew we needed epic artwork of the type that you might see on the wall of an important museum from a long dead renaissance master," says frontman Matt Heafy. "After extensive research, we found one of the few living artists who is capable of creating artwork like Caravaggio and Gentileschi – painter Mathieu Nozieres. Mathieu took our song title and created an original oil painting on canvas unlike anything we could have ever imagined. It's so staggeringly breathtaking and epic and it looks like what the song and album sounds like."

Catch Trivium live in the UK later this year with Heaven Shall Burn, TesseracT, and Fit For An Autopsy:

November 2021

11 Glasgow O2 Academy
12 Birmingham O2 Academy
13 Manchester Victoria Warehouse
14 London O2 Academy Brixton

Read this: "This is not the sound of a band treading water": Our original 2011 review of Trivium’s In Waves

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?