Twin Atlantic announce new line-up, album, and Free 10th anniversary tour

So. Much. Twin. Atlantic. News! The band have unveiled a new line-up, details of upcoming album Transparency, and revealed that they'll be celebrating the 10th anniversary of Free with a special tour…

Twin Atlantic announce new line-up, album, and Free 10th anniversary tour
Emily Carter
Cameron Brisbane

Twin Atlantic have announced a whooooole load of news today: they've got a new line-up, an album on the way, and some very special anniversary tour dates…

Let's start with the line-up: as you can see from the pic above, Craig Kneale has departed the band, the drummer stating that: "It is with a heavy heart and so many great memories that I've decided to step back from Twin Atlantic. I love this band and still believe that big things lie ahead, but this feels like the right time for me to jump off and try something new.

"To have been able to travel the world and play music with my best friends for 15 years has been the greatest privilege. To everyone that’s supported the band over the years – you are the fuel that makes this all mean something. Thank you. What a joy it’s been to be in a band with Sam, Ross and Barry. It still feels like a dream." Best of luck with everything, Craig!

Read this: 13 brilliant B‑sides that should’ve been on a proper studio album

So, this new-look Twin Atlantic will be releasing their brand-new record Transparency on January 7 next year, with fresh single One Man Party out now to coincide with the album announcement. Speaking about how the LP came about, frontman Sam McTrusty explains: "After the challenges put in front of everyone in 2020 and 21 I did what I’ve always done in moments of turmoil, stress or anxiety and started to write songs. It slowly evolved into an album and something we feel puts a new stamp on our band which really excites us."

Watch the video for One Man Party below:

See the tracklist for Transparency:

1. Keep Your Head Up
2. One Man Party
3. Get Famous
4. Young
5. Haunt
6. Dance Like Your Mother
7. Dirty
8. Bang On The Gong
9. It’s Getting Dark
10. Instigator

And the album artwork:

And catch Twin Atlantic celebrating 10 years of Free in May.

"We’ve very rarely ever been a band who look back, but during the lockdown, Free turned 10 years old," says Sam. "It hit another landmark of selling 100,000 copies in the UK. To celebrate that, we wanted to do something in return and finally play an album from start to end live. Can’t wait to see you all there!"

The Free anniversary tour dates are as follows:

May 2022

5 Ireland Dublin Opium
6 Belfast The Limelight
8 London Roundhouse
9 Newcastle Boiler Shop
11 Inverness Ironworks
12 Glasgow Barrowland
15 Leeds Stylus
17 Manchester O2 Ritz
18 Bristol O2 Academy
19 Birmingham O2 Institute

Read this: The 50 best albums from 2011

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?