Amy Lee on Evanescence's 'curveball' single Yeah Right: "There’s definitely more where that came from"

Amy Lee discusses the "spectrum" of sounds and emotions on upcoming Evanescence LP The Bitter Truth.

Amy Lee on Evanescence's 'curveball' single Yeah Right: "There’s definitely more where that came from"
Emily Carter

With Evanescence's highly-anticipated new album The Bitter Truth finally on the horizon, vocalist Amy Lee has hinted at the scope of where things go sonically following recent single Yeah Right.

When asked by Kerrang! if their latest ​“curveball” is the ​“biggest surprise” on the record, Amy reveals, ​“I think there’s definitely more where that came from…

​“When making a complete album, especially after all this time, I always want to just put out a statement, like, ​‘This is where we’re at, this is who we are’ – it has to be a whole spectrum of emotions and reflections that make up who you are, who the band is,” she continues. ​“So far, I feel like each song that we put out is a very different colour of the spectrum and there are more colours yet to come, for sure.”

Read this: The 20 greatest Evanescence songs – ranked

Discussing the band's latest single in particular, Amy explains, ​“Yeah Right has been a long time coming; I started that song a decade ago. It was mostly there, it had been at the top of the pile for a really, really long time – we’ve always had a cool pile of extra scraps and pieces of unfinished songs. That’s just one that kept on not plugging in, and then something happened this year when we got together and started playing and pulling songs together in pre-production – I was like, ​‘I finally know how we can make it work!’ It’s one of those songs that we’re going to have to figure out how to do live because I don’t want to be glued to the moog the whole time. It might be a good time to whip out the keytar!”

Reflecting on The Bitter Truth's creative process throughout the hardships of last year, she enthuses: “I’m really, really, really proud of what we did with our time [in 2020]. It’s been for hard everybody mentally feeling the weight of the world and, to some degree, our mortality. Some days just getting out of bed in the morning has been difficult, so the fact that we made an album, and we made a great album, means I’m always going to look back on [the] year and feel a big sense of pride.”

The Bitter Truth is due out on March 26, 2021.

Catch Evanescence and Within Temptation live on the Worlds Collide Tour:


8 Zurich, CH, Hallenstadion Zurich
9 Milan, IT, Mediolanum Forum Milan
11 Berlin, DE, Velodrom
12 Gliwice, PL, Arena Gliwice
14 Leipzig, DE, Quarterback Immobilien Arena
15 Hamburg, DE, Barclaycard Arena
17 Amsterdam, NL, Ziggo Dome
18 Amsterdam, NL, Ziggo Dome
20 Paris, FR, Accorhotels Arena
21 Düsseldorf, DE, Mitsubishi Electric Halle
22 Munich, DE, Zenith
24 Esch-Sur-Alzette, LU, Rockhal
26 Frankfurt, DE, Festhalle
27 Brussels, BE, Palais 12
28 Brussels, BE, Palais 12
30 Glasgow, UK, The SSE Hydro Arena


1 Leeds, UK, First Direct Arena
3 Birmingham, UK, Utilita Arena Birmingham
4 London, UK, The O2
7 Madrid, Spain, Palacio Vistalegre (Evanescence only)

Get your tickets here.

Quiz: How well do you know Evanescence’s lyrics?

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?