Banks Arcade announce debut album Future Lovers

Melbourne-via-New-Zealand genre-blenders Banks Arcade have also unveiled raging new single Be Someone…

Banks Arcade announce debut album Future Lovers
Zoya Raza-Sheikh

Banks Arcade are putting everything into their next steps. With two tracks – Don’t Start and Smile – to their name, the Melbourne-via-New-Zealand genre-blenders have now announced details of their debut album Future Lovers, which is due out on July 29 via UNFD.

Vocalist Joshua O'Donnel breaks down how Banks Arcade’s upcoming LP came about: “The pandemic definitely allowed the space to have no expectations. For me, I’ve been so busy over the past five years, grinding to try and make this music thing work, and this finally freed up the time to not have to go to work and to focus. I basically went back to New Zealand to my family home where everything is cosy and nice, I was in nature in New Zealand and was just able to wake up every day and write.”

Teasing what else is to come, the singer continues: “The kind of releases that will follow Future Lovers is where we’ll really be able to expand and make this into something even bigger. This is just the opening act.”

The band’s new single, Be Someone, sees them pulling on metalcore and electronica in an energetic soundscape – watch the video below:

Check out the tracklist for Future Lovers:

1. Future Lovers
2. Freaks
3. Fake Your Death
4. Smile
5. Ether
6. Spark
7. Be Someone
8. Used
9. System Failed
10. Trip
11. Don't Start
12. Medicine
13. Wine

And the album artwork:

Check out more:

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?