Body Meat announces debut album, releases new single High Beams

Experimental, videogame-inspired songwriter and producer Body Meat has announced details of his 13-song debut album Starchris…

Body Meat announces debut album, releases new single High Beams
Emily Carter
Conor MacCormack

Body Meat has announced details of his debut album Starchris.

The experimental musician – real name Chris Taylor – will be releasing his first full-length on August 23 via Partisan, and it hears him using videogames as an inspiration across its 13 genre-fusing tracks.

Case in point is new single High Beams, which Chris says is “about a programmer anxiously creating a game from within a cave. He codes all of the functionality, the rules and physics – every parameter to his liking. He then tries to instantiate himself into this world as a copy, but an oversight within his sloppy code work creates a bug within it. His instantiated copy is unable to be removed and begins hunting him.

“The programmer, terrified, tries to destroy the copy of himself. Nothing he does can stop the copy from moving towards him. He starts to realise he has done this before: the copy remembers him and knows that he has to warn the programmer who is cursed to write this code over and over again. Only the bugged copy can break the cycle.”

Check it out below:

And see the Starchris tracklisting:

1. A Tone in The Dark
2. The Mad Hatter
3. High Beams
4. Electrische
5. Focus
6. Right Here
7. Crystalize
8. North Side
9. Starchris
10. Im In Pieces
11. Demons
12. Õbu No Seirei (Spirit of an Orb)
13. Paradise

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?