Defects drop new single, Echo Chamber, ahead of debut album

Their debut album Modern Error arrives tomorrow, and in advance Defects have shared one final single and video: Echo Chamber.

Defects drop new single, Echo Chamber, ahead of debut album
Emily Carter
Markus Maschwitz

Defects have just released one of their “proudest” songs ever, Echo Chamber.

The metallers’ new effort arrives just ahead of the release of tomorrow’s debut album Modern Error, and vocalist Tony Maue explains that this track in particular “gave me a chance to touch base on how I’ve felt over the last 16 years”.

“It’s a song that reflects over what it means to still be here moving forward and the trauma that comes with it,” Tony explains. “It also serves as a way of addressing the elephant in the room and finally being able to close the door on that chapter of my life. Creating my own closure instead of looking for it.”

Watch the video for Echo Chamber below, and give Modern Error a listen tomorrow (May 24).

Catch Defects live at the following upcoming UK dates:


28 London The Old Blue Last
30 Birmingham Asylum 2
31 Manchester Satan's Hollow


14 Derby Download Festival (get your tickets here)
17 Cardiff The Globe (w/ Of Mice & Men)
18 Tunbridge Wells Forum (w/ Of Mice & Men)

Read this: Gatecreeper: “Death metal is sacred, and you’re passing it from generation to generation… a lot of genres don’t have that”

Check out more:

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?