Hot Snakes Sign To Sub Pop, New Album Due In 2018

And there are reissues of the cool-as-flip California punk band’s back catalogue coming, too.

Hot Snakes Sign To Sub Pop, New Album Due In 2018

San Diego’s Hot Snakes are one damn cool punk band. Formed and fronted by John Reis and Rick Froberg, both of whom were in the seminal Drive Like Jehu (and you might also recognise the latter from Rocket From The Crypt, when he went under the name of Speedo), they put out three kick-ass studio albums between 2000 and 2004, before calling time in 2005 to get on with Other Cool Shit.

But then, in 2011, reunion! The band played Fun Fun Fun Fest and All Tomorrow’s Parties, and has since toured elsewhere, albeit sporadically. And now comes news that all fans of the band were waiting for: new material, and a new tour, too!

Hot Snakes’ as-yet-untitled fourth album will be released through the world-famous Sub Pop in the spring of 2018, as announced on the label’s blog. Sub Pop is also promising reissues of the group’s three previous LPs for around the same time. And to get appetites nice and whetted, the band will set out on a US run in November, their first proper jaunt around the States for six years.

Playing catch-up? We got you – check out the video to the rollicking Braintrust, from 2004’s Audit In Progress LP, below. And then listen to (this writer’s favourite Hot Snakes album) 2002’s Suicide Invoice at the bottom of the article.

Get tickets to the below dates here


8: Long Beach, Alex’s Bar
9: Los Angeles, The Troubadour
10: San Francisco, The Chapel
11: Portland, Star Theatre
12: Seattle, Chop Suey
15: Washington DC, Rock and Roll Hotel
16: Brooklyn, Bell House
17: Boston, Middle East
18: Philadelphia, Underground Arts

Hot Snakes photo by Rick Froberg.

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?