Listen to Glitterer’s new single, The Same Ordinary

Ahead of their full-band debut album next month, Glitterer have unveiled 70 more seconds from Rationale…

Listen to Glitterer’s new single, The Same Ordinary
Emily Carter

Glitterer have shared a brand-new single entitled The Same Ordinary.

The 70-second track is taken from their upcoming album Rationale (Ned Russin’s fourth record under the Glitterer banner, but their first record as a full band completed by keyboardist Nicole Dao, drummer Jonas Farah and guitarist Mike French), which is due out on February 23 via ANTI-.

Ned says that The Same Ordinary came about after he “got lyrically ahead of myself and had to rearrange the song to make it fit”.

“Finally,” he says, “I just decided to try and throw in abbreviated measure at the end of the phrase, like a little tag. After all, I wanted to keep the lyrics, which analyse how a pursuit of purpose is at times monotonous and maybe inescapable even if we are critical of it, in fact… I think it’s the element of the song that makes the whole thing work, a kind of harsh turn that also oddly acts as forward propulsion.”

Check it out below:

See the full tracklisting for Rationale:

1. I Want To Be Invisible
2. The Same Ordinary
3. Plastic
4. Can’t Feel Anything
5. Big Winner
6. Recollection
7. Certainty
8. It’s My Turn
9. Just A Place
10. No One There
11. My Lonely Lighting
12. Half Truth

Read this: Joyce Manor: “It’s not healthy to start painting yourself into a box… it’s better to just fucking get on with it”

Check out more:

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?