Listen to the debut single from Michael Poulsen’s new death metal project, Asinhell

Volbeat’s Michael Poulsen has got a new death metal band, Asinhell, and their debut album Impii Hora is coming soon…

Listen to the debut single from Michael Poulsen’s new death metal project, Asinhell
Emily Carter

Volbeat’s Michael Poulsen has launched a new death metal project with ex-Morgoth singer Marc Grewe, and Morten Toft Hansen from Danish group Raunchy.

The trio’s band name is the very metal Asinhell, and they’ll be releasing debut album Impii Hora (Latin for Ungodly Hour) on September 29 via Metal Blade Records.

You can get your first preview of Impii Hora below with the lyric video for album opener Fall Of The Loyal Warrior, which Michael explains is “kind of a tribute to bands I love, like Bolt Thrower, Entombed, Autopsy, Grave and Darkthrone. They’re the reason why we can do this in the first place, and we’re proud to wear our influences on our sleeve.

“The album was inspired by late ’80s and early ’90s old school death metal, and one of our brightest points of inspiration was the mighty Death, fronted by the legendary Chuck Schuldiner. There’s a lot of Death in there. Schuldiner is one of my favourite death metal vocalists, the other being our vocalist Marc. So to me, this song is the combination of two of my favourites. ‘Let the metal flow,’ as Chuck would have said!”

Check it out below:

See the full Impii Hora tracklist:

1. Fall Of The Loyal Warrior
2. Inner Sancticide
3. Island Of Dead Men
4. Trophies
5. The Ultimate Sin
6. Wolfpack Laws
7. Desert Of Doom
8. Pyromantic Scryer
9. Impii Hora
10. Foj For Helvede

And the album cover:

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?