Metallica have just released a trippy new version of their iconic Enter Sandman video

Watch Metallica's head-spinningly cool Psycho Band Pass version of Enter Sandman – featuring a load of unseen band footage!

Metallica have just released a trippy new version of their iconic Enter Sandman video
Emily Carter

Metallica have released a brand-new version of their iconic Enter Sandman video – featuring none of the original clip's plot, and just a bunch of killer footage of the band rocking out.

With loads of previously unseen rough-cut footage, this incredibly trippy Psycho Band Pass flickers between James Hetfield, Kirk Hammett, Jason Newsted and Lars Ulrich performing in Los Angeles in June 1991. It is taken from the Music Videos DVD included in the band's upcoming Remastered Deluxe Box Set of The Black Album, and is an absolute treat…

Read this: "What we are doing will be the next big thing in heavy metal": The inside story of Metallica’s Ride The Lightning

If that's not enough for you, Volbeat have just shared their thundering version of Don't Tread On Me from The Metallica Blacklist. Both records will be out on September 10 via Blackened Recordings and can be pre-ordered here.

Metallica explain of the ambitious Blacklist project: "With contributions from countries all over the globe from the U.S. to Nigeria, there are tracks from singer-songwriters, country artists, electronic, and hip-hop artists alongside punk rockers, indie darlings, icons of rock, metal, world music, and many, many more covering the entire spectrum from musicians we’ve shared the stage with, to some who were not even born yet when the original album was released!

"In addition to raising money for charity, we wanted to show that Metallica’s music transcends genres, distance, and cultures, and we like to think that – with everyone’s help – we’ve done just that. It was important to us that the artists could choose whichever song they most connected to; it didn’t matter if we already had multiple versions of a song, if an artist wanted to cover that song, so be it. We were honored to have artists of this caliber want to be a part of the project and we hope you enjoy listening as much as we enjoyed putting it all together!

"One album, 12 songs, 53 artists, unlimited possibilities.”

Catch Metallica live at the following upcoming tour dates:

September 2021

24 Louisville, KY – Louder Than Life
26 Louisville, KY – Louder Than Life

October 2021

8 Sacramento, CA – Aftershock
10 Sacramento, CA – Aftershock

November 2021

4 Hollywood, FL – Hard Rock Live at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino
6 Atlanta, GA – ATLive
12 Daytona Beach, FL – Welcome To Rockville
14 Daytona Beach, FL – Welcome To Rockville

December 2021

17 San Francisco, CA – Chase Center
19 San Francisco, CA – Chase Center

June 2022

15 Copenhagen, Denmark – Copenhell
17 Landgraaf, Netherlands – Pinkpop
19 Florence, Italy – Firenze Rocks
22 Prague, Czech Republic – Prague Rocks
26 Clisson, France – Hellfest

July 2022

1 Werchter, Belgium – Rock Werchter
6 Madrid, Spain – Mad Cool
8 Lisbon, Portugal – NOS Alive

Read this: Metallica’s Lars Ulrich: ​“I still have a crazy thing about music. I’ve never lost the sense of being a fan…”

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?