Myrkur Announces New Album Folkesange, Releases New Single

Listen to Myrkur's new song Ella, taken from her upcoming album Folkesange

Myrkur Announces New Album Folkesange, Releases New Single

Myrkur has announced details of her third album Folkesange.

The follow-up to 2017's Mareridt LP, Myrkur (real name Amalie Bruun) has moved away from her ethereal black metal sound to embrace traditional folk music and Scandinavian culture.

The first song to be released from Folkesange is the opening track Ella, which Myrkur says is the result of "years of studying, playing and listening to traditional Nordic folk music".

READ THIS: 12 of the craziest concept albums ever

She continues, "This is my version of a new folk song, with roots planted in history and in the past. It is my ode to mankind and our connection with nature – a rite of passage as a woman and a rebirth-ritual in the sea.

"Three years ago I decided to share a video where I performed an old Scandinavian folk song on the nyckelharpa (a traditional Swedish instrument). After this I realised that I had a strong need to create an album within this universe and that other people also wished to hear this. So I started working on picking out what old songs to reinterpret as well as write my own version of this. Ella is this."

Myrkur has previously performed a series of Folkesange shows across Europe, including London and Roadburn festival in Tilburg, but this is the first full-length recording of her new, folk-tinged path.

Folkesange tracklist

1. Ella
2. Fager som en Ros
3. Leaves of Yggdrasil
4. Ramund
5. Tor i Helheim
6. Svea
7. Harpens Kraft
8. Gammelkäring
9. House Carpenter
10. Reiar
11. Gudernes Vilje
12. Vinter

Folkesange will be released on March 20 via Relapse Records and is available to pre-order now.

READ THIS: How Paganism is influencing a new breed of heavy artist

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?