Perturbator announces new album, shares first single and video

Watch the new video for Death Of The Soul, the "nihilistic" lead single from Perturbator's upcoming fifth album Lustful Sacraments.

Perturbator announces new album, shares first single and video
Emily Carter
Perturbator photo:
David Fitt

French synthwave titan Perturbator (real name James Kent) has announced details of upcoming fifth album Lustful Sacraments.

The record – the follow-up to 2016 full-length The Uncanny Valley – is due out on May 28 via Blood Music, with unsurprisingly ace lead single Death Of The Soul out now (and complete with a shiny video to boot). Of the single, James says, "The track takes inspiration from old-school EBM a la DAF or Front 242, Valnoir [Metastazis] has managed to perfectly pair visuals that reflect the nihilistic tone of it."

Read this: 11 bands who single-handedly launched genres

Discussing Lustful Sacraments as a whole – which was written, performed, produced and mixed entirely by Perturbator – the musician teases, "It’s an album about bad habits, dissatisfaction and addiction. An overall look at how we, as a species, lean towards self-destruction."

Pre-order Lustful Sacraments here, and check out Death Of The Soul in all its glory below:

Plus, catch Perturbator – along with Health and Author & Punisher – at the following dates:


5 London Electric Ballroom
6 Glasgow St Luke's
7 Manchester Academy 2
9 Dublin Opium
10 Bristol SWX

Check out more:

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?