Rage Against The Machine will be inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame

The Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame has confirmed the class of 2023 – and we’ve got Rage in there, but no Iron Maiden or Soundgarden…

Rage Against The Machine will be inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame
Emily Carter
Gie Knaeps courtesy of RRHOF

The inductees for the 38th annual Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame ceremony have been announced.

The mighty Rage Against The Machine have been included in the performers category in the class of 2023, alongside Kate Bush, Sheryl Crow, Missy Elliott, George Michael, Willie Nelson and The Spinners.

“This year’s incredible group of Inductees reflects the diverse artists and sounds that define rock’n’roll,” announces John Sykes, Chairman of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation. “We are honoured that this November’s Induction Ceremony in New York will coincide with two milestones in music culture: the 90th birthday of Willie Nelson and the 50th anniversary of the birth of hip-hop.”

But while Rage deservedly join unfortunately Iron Maiden and Soundgarden have both missed out this year, as well as A Tribe Called Quest, Joy Division/New Order, Cyndi Lauper, The White Stripes and Warren Zevon – who were all in the general ballot but ultimately didn’t make the final cut.

See the full 2023 list below:

Performer Category

  • Kate Bush
  • Sheryl Crow
  • Missy Elliott
  • George Michael
  • Willie Nelson
  • Rage Against the Machine
  • The Spinners

Musical Influence Award

  • DJ Kool Herc
  • Link Wray

Musical Excellence Award

  • Chaka Khan
  • Al Kooper
  • Bernie Taupin

Ahmet Ertegun Award

  • Don Cornelius

The Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame induction ceremony will take place on Friday, November 3 at New York’s Barclays Center.

Read this: Tom Morello: My life in 10 songs

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?