The Darkness Release New Video For Rock And Roll Deserves To Die

Watch The Darkness' new video for Rock And Roll Deserves To Die

The Darkness Release New Video For Rock And Roll Deserves To Die

The Darkness have released a new video for their track Rock And Roll Deserves To Die, taken from upcoming album Easter Is Cancelled.

It's the first new music we've heard from The Darkness since their 2017 album Pinewood Smile, and they're still up to their old tricks.

"A lot of bands have relinquished their duty. Rock and roll is so uniform now," says bassist Frankie Poullain about the new song. "Everybody dresses the same, looks the same, sounds the same. It’s pathetic. It deserves to die. Let’s kill the cliché. Let’s break the crucifix. That’s partly what the album is about.”

Easter Is Cancelled is The Darkness' sixth studio album and their first-ever concept record.

"At the end of days, humankind must consider the essential truths of existence. The Darkness, your vanguard in life’s journey, have stared into the abyss. The observations we bring from the edge are set out in a new album, titled Easter Is Cancelled," says vocalist Justin Hawkins.

“This far-reaching communiqué examines man’s brutality to man, the dichotomies that we live within and the alternate realities that exist alongside our blinkered comprehension of the Universe. The song cycle defines human existence through a parable – the slow lingering death and eventual glorious re-birth of rock and roll.

"In the search for perfect sonic equivalents of core truths, every musical instrument of the world has been explored and exploited to its fullest extent. Endless days in studios, museums, spiritual retreats and places of learning turned into endless months, as deeper and deeper layers of truth were uncovered, translated and set for eternity in sound.

“The result is a literally biblical record, and those who have said that rock and roll is the Devil’s music should listen and understand that it is, in truth, the voice of God.

“This is the grandest statement any band has ever made, and the endeavour has taken its toll. In achieving such a mighty goal, a line is drawn and this will be the last traditional music album from The Darkness – having confronted the eternal and ultimate, we must now move on to higher art forms. The future is an open door. Who’s in here?”

Easter Is Cancelled is released October 4 via Cooking Vinyl.

Catch The Darkness on tour across the UK and Ireland later this year at the dates below. Get your tickets now.

The Darkness 2019 tour


26 Belfast, Limelight
27 Dublin, Academy
29 Nottingham, Rock City


01 Birmingham, O2 Academy
02 Leicester, O2 Academy
03 Southend, Cliffs Pavilion
05 Norwich, UEA
06 Cambridge, Corn Exchange
07 Bath, Pavilions
09 Portsmouth, Pyramids
10 Brighton, Dome
11 Watford, Colosseum
13 Manchester Academy
14 Newcastle, O2 Academy
15 Glasgow, O2 Academy
17 York, Barbican
18 Liverpool, O2 Academy
20 London, Roundhouse

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?