This Is Metallica's Setlist From The First Night Of Their European Stadium Tour

Metallica brought the fire to the opening night of their European WorldWired tour

This Is Metallica's Setlist From The First Night Of Their European Stadium Tour

It's been a long time coming, but Metallica's WorldWired stadium tour has finally made its way to Europe! Last night the thrash legends kickstarted their summer jaunt at Estadio do Restelo in Lisbon, Portugal, supported by Ghost and Bokassa, and with tens of thousands screaming members of the Metallica Family.

And it was wall-to-wall ragers from Mr Hetfield and co., packing eighteen tracks into their epic set, including Ride The Lightning, Master Of Puppets, Sad But True, One and Seek & Destroy. But there were a handful of curveballs in thrown into the mix, too. Frantic was aired for the first time since 2011 and The God That Failed was played for the first time since 2012, reassuring us all that you can never guarantee what a Metallica setlist will actually contain.

Here's that setlist in full:

1. Hardwired
2. Disposable Heroes
3. Ride The Lightning
4. The God That Failed
5. The Unforgiven
6. Here Comes Revenge
7. Moth Into Flame
8. Sad But True
9. Welcome Home (Sanitarium)
10. Frantic
11. One
12. Master Of Puppets
13. For Whom The Bell Tolls
14. Creeping Death
15. Seek & Destroy


16. Lords Of Summer
17. Nothing Else Matters
18. Enter Sandman

As ever, Metallica posted their setlist on Twitter after the show, and it looks like Sanitarium was added at the last minute to replace their iconic ballad Fade To Black.

And here's a quick look at the Lisbon show: from the crowd entering the building to Metallica blowing them all away again.

Metallica are headlining the Etihad Stadium in Manchester on June 18 (get your tickets now) and Twickenham Stadium in London on June 20 (get your tickets now).

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?