twenty one pilots drop new single Shy Away, announce upcoming album Scaled And Icy

Watch the video for twenty one pilots' brand-new single Shy Away, taken from their upcoming sixth studio album Scaled And Icy.

twenty one pilots drop new single Shy Away, announce upcoming album Scaled And Icy
Emily Carter

Surprise! twenty one pilots are back. The Columbus, Ohio superstars – Tyler Joseph and Josh Dun – have just dropped a new single, announced details of their upcoming sixth album, and revealed details of a global livestream event.

The pair's highly-anticipated new record goes by the name Scaled And Icy, and is due out on May 21 via Fueled By Ramen. As with 2018's Trench, the full-length was written and 'largely' produced by Tyler, with Los Angeles-based Josh sending his drum material virtually throughout the pandemic.

Read this: The 20 greatest twenty one pilots songs – ranked

Scaled And Icy reportedly touches on themes of "anxiety, loneliness, boredom and doubt", with the songs pushing "forward through setbacks and focus on the possibilities worth remembering".

Ahead of the album's release, twenty one pilots have dropped the awesome lead single Shy Away, along with a shiny new video. Check it out below:

The Scaled And Icy tracklist is as follows:

1. Good Day
2. Choker
3. Shy Away
4. The Outside
5. Saturday
6. Never Take It
7. Mulberry Street
8. Formidable
9. Bounce Man
10. No Chances
11. Redecorate

And the album artwork looks like this:

twenty one pilots' global livestream event happens on the same day as Scaled And Icy's album release, broadcasting on May 21 from 8pm ET / 1am BST. It will "mark the live debut of new material from Scaled And Icy", as well as featuring plenty of career-spanning hits. Get your tickets here.

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?