Beartooth have announced their new album, The Surface

Beartooth are back with a record that reflects “health, self-love, positivity, understanding, hard work” – watch the video for new single Might Love Myself now.

Beartooth have announced their new album, The Surface
Emily Carter

Beartooth are back with a brand-new album – and judging by the sound of things, it could well be their happiest ever.

Following the dark, crushing Below in 2021, this year the quintet – Caleb Shomo, Zach Huston, Will Deely, Oshie Bichar and Connor Denis – will release The Surface on October 13 via Red Bull Records. Pre-order the album here.

“Beartooth’s entire discography has been snapshots of my inner monologue and emotional state over the years with a recurring theme: depression and self-loathing,” explains frontman Caleb. “It’s been tough to understand why I’ve felt the way I do for so long. During the pandemic, I was faced with two distinct paths in life. One: I continue doing nothing to manage the realities of my mental health and continue down a path of self-destruction, ultimately ending in my demise. Two: choose to do the work needed to maintain a healthier relationship with myself, no matter how difficult or painful.

“This album is the story of my beginnings in the new world I’ve created for myself. One focused on health, self-love, positivity, understanding, hard work, and most of all second chances. At the end of the day, life is short for all of us. We can’t escape the end, so why not make friends with it and live in a world focused on living a personally fulfilling life?”

You can hear exactly what Caleb means in new single Might Love Myself – watch the video below.

“I truly believe mental health starts with a healthy relationship with one’s self,” shares Caleb of the single. “Self-love was something I never believed would be a part of my life. I would focus on my depression and my sadness, believing those part of me were always the most prominent in my mind. But through hard work comes results. Self-love had to be a choice; it can't be an emotion. Emotions are fleeting and can change with a sunset or a single word. Choosing to put your own health – mentally and physically – as the highest priority in your life has been the only path I’ve found to self-love. It helped me realize what I’m capable of, how strong I am, and that progress is more important than any immediate fix to my emotions. This song is about the first moment I realized something was significantly shifting in my life.”

See the tracklist for The Surface:

1. The Surface
2. Riptide
3. Doubt Me
4. The Better Me (feat. HARDY)
5. Might Love Myself
6. Sunshine!
7. What’s Killing You
8. Look The Other Way
9. What Are You Waiting For
10. My New Reality
11. I Was Alive

And the album cover:

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?