Cave In Announce New Album Final Transmission

Listen to All Illusion, the first single from Cave In's new album Final Transmission

Cave In Announce New Album Final Transmission

Cave In have announced details of new album Final Transmission, their first new music since bassist Caleb Scofield passed away in March last year.

Final Transmission will be Cave In's sixth album, the follow-up to 2011's White Silence, and features Caleb throughout the record, playing bass on six tracks and guitar on two.

“I don’t think I’ve cried so much putting together any record," says vocalist Stephen Brodsky. "I’ve definitely felt like bursting into tears while I was working on things, but this was actual water being shed. I don’t try to look too deeply into how these things work, but these recordings are some of our last moments spending time with [Caleb].

“Led To The Wolves is a Caleb song,” adds Stephen. “It’s his composition and mostly his riffs. If you know White Silence, you can smell the fumes of that record on Led To The Wolves. And White Silence was heavily shaped by Caleb’s hand.”

The record actually begins with a voice memo Caleb sent to the band one month before his death, but the majority of the lyrics were written after the fact. Stephen describes the song Shake My Blood as his first opportunity to express his feelings about the situation.

“It’s a mix of extreme grief, frustration and anger. I was trying to do something to gain the clearest answer about whatever the next move might be. We worked on the lyrics together, and all three of us sing on that song – Adam’s (McGrath, guitar) doing the high harmonies and JR (drums) is doing the low harmonies.”

Half of the proceeds from Final Transmission will be given to Caleb's wife and children.

“I feel really lucky to have this record,” says Adam. “I love it, but I don’t like listening to it. I’m sure I’ll listen to it eventually, but right now it’s difficult. Just hearing him play kills me. I’ll miss him forever.”o

Final Transmission will be released June 7 via Hydra Head. Listen to new track All Illusion below.

Final Transmission tracklist:

1. Final Transmission
2. All Illusion
3. Shake My Blood
4. Night Crawler
5. Lunar Day
6. Winter Window
7. Lanterna
8. Strange Reflection
9. Led To The Wolves

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?