Cold Years announce new album A Different Life: “It changed the game for us”

Scottish punk favourites Cold Years are releasing their new album A Different Life in just a few months’ time – and they’re feeling a “confidence with this record” like never before.

Cold Years announce new album A Different Life: “It changed the game for us”
Emily Carter
Nicole Mago

Cold Years have announced details of their third album A Different Life.

The Scottish punks will be releasing the LP – the follow-up to 2022’s 4/5-rated Goodbye To Misery – on April 26 via MNRK, and they promise the best iteration of the band yet (which, given their already-high standards, is very exciting).

“This is the first time I’ve ever come out of a studio able to listen to the tracks, where, and I say this 100 per cent with conviction, we went in and did everything we wanted to do and more,” enthuses vocalist/guitarist Ross Gordon. “I’ve never done that. I’ve always come out feeling like we could have done something better or different. But this album changed the game for all of us as a band. We didn’t just do 12 tracks that sound the same. We tried to make things a little different. That happened naturally, and it’s the most musical experience I’ve ever had. I definitely feel a confidence with this record that I didn’t feel on the others.”

Cold Years are proving just that with brilliant lead single Roll With It, which you can stream below. Ross explains of its meaning: “Life is not an easy thing to contend with. Between long hours of working your ass off, trying to see family and friends and having the occasional self-destructive streak, sometimes it’s natural to want more. This song is about wanting more from your life – the person you once were is gone.”

See the full A Different Life tracklist:

1. Over It
2. Roll With It
3. Radio
4. Low
5. Youth
6. Goodbye My Friend
7. Choke
8. Fuck The Weather
9. Other Side
10. Let Go
11. Sick
12. Die Tonight

Check out more:

Now read these

The best of Kerrang! delivered straight to your inbox three times a week. What are you waiting for?